Apple Pie by Grandma Ople Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 17)
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2014
I have made this before and it turned out great. I made it yesterday and it was very watery! I did add some cinnamon to the sugar mixture but thought I had done everything according to the recipe. I managed to cut a few pieces and then drain off the watery liquid put a paper towel to absorb any extra. It tastes great, but how did I end up with all the liquid
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA
Living In: Prescott, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2014
I've been following this great recipe exactly for years. I left the flour out of the sauce once and saw no difference. I always bake it on the lower rack and it never burns and the bottom crust cooks through. I slice the apples about 1/6" thick and mix tart varieties with sweeter. It always comes out delicious. If you want an apple-flavoured pie, there's no need for other ingredients. The point is the simple purity of it. The apples are just delicious with the butterscotch-like sauce. It doesn't even need vanilla!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by bwhitlock3
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2014
WOW. I was a real skeptic of Mrs. Ople at first, because I've never had an apple pie where you drizzle the sauce after adding top layer. But man oh man, it is the way to go. Crunchy, caramely, soft, tart, sugary, flaky...the list goes on forever. 5 million stars for my home girl ople.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Stella
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2014
This recipe is a keeper!!! Made amazing apple pie and people loved it. Thank you so much for sharing :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2014
Great! I've never made apple pie from scratch and it was perfect! The family loved it. Thanks for sharing :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2014
1st...I could only fit 6 apples in my pie. 2nd...the sauce was outstanding! 3rd...not enough sauce got down to the apples, but it made the crust delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2014
One of the best I have ever tried. Nothing fancy just good old apple pie. I hope Grandma OK's my addition to a perfect thing. I put 1/2 cup Caramel to the sauce and make a Caramel Apple Pie. The original rocks and so does the Caramel to some. Christmas would not be the same without Grandma Ople's Pie at the table.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
This is definitely the only recipe I will ever need for apple pie. It was the first time I ever made a pie and it was easy and all of my husbands friends devoured it! They couldn't stop talking about it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
This pie was really yummy. I made it for my husbands birthday this week. We both loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
Wow! Obviously I love apple pie--apples, cinnamon, sugar and pastry, you really can't make a bad one--but I've always felt mine have lacked a little oomph. I found the oomph! IT'S THE CARAMEL!!!! That simple sauce will make this pie crush your previous ones! Of course I relied on my old pal the Pillsbury Doughboy for my crust because I'm lazy, and I didn't bother to lattice the top, I just poured the caramel over the apples once they were in the bottom crust then placed the top crust and brushed it with milk. FYI I used 3 Braeburn and 3 Golden Delicious apples, thinly sliced. This is the only way I will make apple pie from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 161-170 (of 5,936) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Pie by Grandma Ople

Learn how to make Grandma Ople's famous apple pie.

Easy Classic Apple Pie

See how to make a simple apple pie with a flaky, golden-brown crust.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States