Apple Pie by Grandma Ople Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 17)
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2014
I just made this today followed the directions But use the apples I had at home. This is trul a wonderful pie.bthanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2014
This was delicious. Normally my baking fails, but this one was a winner! I made lots of little pies in ramekins instead of one big one as I only had one sheet of pastry left. Next time I would put a little less sugar as the syrup at the bottom of the pie was a bit too sweet for our liking, but other than that, it turned out perfect. Served hot with some hokey pokey ice cream. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2014
It was just OK.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica Williamson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2014
This apple pie was simple to make and delicious to eat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2014
I made this yesterday and served to friends today. Huge hit! I put oven on 425° but turned it to 350° as soon as I put the pie in the oven. I had 5 Granny Smith apples and then added two others of a different variety. Did add a bit of cinnamon to the sugar mixture. My friends left clean plates. My granddaughter came by and she loved it too. It is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2014
EXCELLENT pie!!! Made it multiple times and it is perfect every time. Recommend this to everyone for an apple pie recipe. Not too sweet with a little bitter from the Granny Smith apples.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Conroe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Willie
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2014
I followed this recipe as is, oven temperature also. I didn't have a problem with the crust burning, but making the crust from scratch might have something to do with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Willie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Donna Bell-Buhrman
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2014
This pie is yummy, I used the recipe as described, added tb cinnamon and tsp nutmeg, brushed the filling on the lattice crust and it turned out so beautiful I was shocked, at the presentation. The flavor is delicious !!! My question is if anyone knows can I freeze these for about a week ?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Donna Bell-Buhrman

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2014
This is the best pie crust I have every made! Simple and easy and now the only crust I will make
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by AngelChef
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2014
I made this recipe for Thanksgiving and it was quite a hit! I used piecrust cutters to top it off with decorative turkeys, acorns and leaves for the occasion. I followed the recipe very closely; I doubled it to allow for plenty of filling for my large pie dish. Although I boiled the liquid filling as dictated by the recipe, it never thickened enough and stayed somewhat runny even after it baked. When we cut the pie, which was still warm, it fell apart so it was scooped out in pieces rather than slices. Next time, I will boil the liquid filler longer to try to get it to thicken better. Nonetheless, it was a delicious dessert and every bite was eaten. We served it with a little ice cream on top and it was divine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AngelChef

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 161-170 (of 6,415) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Pie by Grandma Ople

Learn how to make Grandma Ople's famous apple pie.

Dutch Apple Pie

Watch how to make a crumbly topped apple pie.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States