Apple Pie by Grandma Ople Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2014
I think this is a fantastic base recipe and the fact that it can lead to so many wonderful variations makes it even better! I cooked my apples in with the caramel liquid until they were softened a little and the sauce was thick and I added a bit of cinnamon and a couple of drops of lemon emulsion. I allowed it to cool a little before adding it to the pie crust. I topped with a lattice crust once and a streusel topping another time - both were fantastic and I had many compliments!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Cruces, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Glenwood, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2014
I've made this pie several times over the past couple of years and it is AMAZING!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2014
I love this apple pie. As a father of 3 young children, it's exciting to begin traditions. This apple pie is quickly becoming a fall tradition of ours. It's simple and delicious and has the taste of days of gone by all over it. I'll be sure to pass on the story of this pie to my family and anyone who is lucky enough to have a slice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sarahbear
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2014
Very very good recipe! 4 stars as is, and a solid 5 following the suggestions of others. I of course did the lattice top, and used my mothers recipe for the double crust. I added 2 ts of vanilla extract, 2 ts of cinnamon, and a 1/4 ts nutmeg. I also decreased the water to 1 tb, added 3 tb flour and 1 tb corn starch. I've made this 5 times now and its great every time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sarahbear

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newport, Oregon, USA
Living In: Albany, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2014
I'm confused.... All these 5 star ratings are not rating THIS recipe, but their own MODIFIED VERSION of this recipe. I followed it to the letter (except added cinnamon to the apples bc I know my husband prefers cinnamon in his apple pie) and the syrup did not run down into the apples, it just stayed one big blob on top. Now, once I took a piece out and mixed it together on my plate, it did taste excellent and is probably one of the best apple pies I've ever made TASTE-wise... But the pie itself looked like it should be featured on "Cake Wrecks" or something! My nephew was very disappointed that our pie didn't turn out LOOKING delicious (which to a 7 year old, how food looks is EVERYTHING!!!). Hoping I have time to make a new one and follow the modifications that some other reviewers have posted before my husband gets home tomorrow (I'm glad he wasn't here to see this one, he'd never let me live it down)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2014
Been looking for a good apple pie recipe and I happened on this one. I have tried many but never did like the results. I read some of the suggestions and did what many did I added 1 t cinnamon, 1/2 t nutmeg, 1 T vanilla but did not decrease the water and also added about 1T of corn starch. Used the Granny Smith apples which I mixed with the butter sugar sauce and put in the egg washed bottom crust. I used a full top crust which I brushed with some of the sauce I set aside. OMG you have got to try this recipe it is to die for. Thank you so much Grandma Ople you are amazing now I can make a GREAT apple pie. I have made 2 in the last 3 days to share.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2014
I consider myself a pretty good cook or at least that's what my friends and family has always told me. And I was quite embarrassed to admit I have never had any success in making pies. This recipe was not only easy to make but absolutely the best pie I have ever eaten! Do I have to divulge where I got this recipe from or can I keep it all for myself? Lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by leo
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2014
It amazing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2014
I have been making this recipe for quite a few years now, and I absolutely love it. I did however make a few additions to it, like I add vanilla, cinnamon, and a touch of nutmeg, every once in a while I add caramel, but this is the base recipe and my family can't seem to get enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TexasYankeeCook
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2014
This pie is outstanding! Normally i make my recipe but thought I'd try something new. THIS is now my go-to recipe! I did find that 8 apples was too many but will just do 5 next time (they were pretty large). Really a yummy pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 6,154) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Apple Pie by Grandma Ople

Learn how to make Grandma Ople's famous apple pie.

Dutch Apple Pie

Watch how to make a crumbly topped apple pie.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States