Apple Pie by Grandma Ople Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2015
My 5 year old Drake says, "Still make the apple shapes and to still make the pie crust. But that sauce is too gooey. It's sweet enough, but it is too gooey so no need to add too much gooey and tell them to make the sauce not gooey. I would like it if you put the same sweetness in because sweetness and sauce makes sense, but not that gooey sauce. No Way!!! I want it to taste like apple pie. I am a big fan of the apples and the crust, but not that gooey sauce. Night monsters only like that gooey sauce...I will give the leftovers to those night monsters. It was not yucky, I would just call it not my favorite. Even though I didn't want apple pie, I wanted a lemon cookie. That is my typing of the day thanks for hanging out with my machine and my mommy is typing and has reached her limit. Thanks for helping me to find a solution."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2015
This is the BEST apple pie recipe that I have tried to date! Tried one of the Granny Smith apples ahead of time and I was a little worried because it was very tart, but not to worry, the sugar that is poured on top sweetens the pie. I followed the recipe EXACTLY EXCEPT that I sprinkled some turbinino sugar on top. The lattice crust was not easy to do, but I'm going to keep trying. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ken Baughns

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2015
Most of the syrup stayed on top, bums me out. Probably still gonna taste good though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dan Heins

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2015
I've been baking pies over 40 years, and this is the best pie recipe I've ever made! Thank you for sharing it with us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2015
Needs Cinnamon
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2015
Best apple pie I have ver made! I made it for a family dinner and everyone else said that it was the best apple pie they ever ate! You have to follow the recipe exactly as it says. I thought it was weird that it wanted the sugar mixture poured over the entire pie before baking because I didn't think it was going to come out good. But my assumption was dead wrong! It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Martin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2015
Ok this is seriously the best apple pie I have ever eaten! Very easy recipe and I am impressed! !! My husband agrees. I never would write a review, but this recipe deserves it! Delicious! !! The only thing I changed was I added a tsp of cinnamon and used Crisco instead of butter. ....soo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2015
Worked out great tasted great. I omitted the salt and added cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2015
In my 47 years, I have made many, many apple pies from various recipes. Finally I have found my "keeper", my go-to apple pie. This pie is extraordinary. Aside from 3 exceptions, I made this pie as per instructions. Instead of water in the sauce, I used an equal amount of half and half. I added 1 teaspoon of cinnamon, and 1 1/2 half teaspoons of ground ginger, also to the sauce. My pie was baked for 45 minutes at 350 degrees. It is beautiful, and delicious. Thank you for sharing Grandma Ople's recipe. She would be proud.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NonniSalafia

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Terry Godwin
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2015
This is a FANTASTIC pie! Pouring the sugar mixture over the crust is the kicker. Gives the top crust a nice, sticky goodness. I followed the recipe exactly & only added some ground cinnamon & cloves to the sugar mixture. Simple to make & flavor is so good. Grandma Ople sure knew what she was doing with this pie. Great, great, great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terry Godwin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 6,426) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Pie by Grandma Ople

Learn how to make Grandma Ople's famous apple pie.

Dutch Apple Pie

Watch how to make a crumbly topped apple pie.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States