Apple Pie by Grandma Ople Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 3, 2015
Great base recipe. Like most I added cinnamon, allspice, nutmeg, vanilla, egg wash on the bottom crust and a bit of lemon juice. I baked for 60 minutes at 350. 6 apples sliced thin. Used 1/3 rd of sauce to mix in apples before putting in bottom. After 50 minutes added Brown sugar and cinnamon and let bake last 10 minutes. Probably the best pie I ever made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cgregb

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2015
Deeelicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Bennett

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2015
This pie is what the man of the house requests at Thanksgiving and his birthday and I am NOT a baker! I cheat and buy ready made pie crusts. I also have a handy little doohickey that peels and cores the Granny Smith apples I use. I really hate peeling and coring by hand which seems to take forever. Like others have mentioned I add cinnamon, vanilla extract and sometimes nutmeg. I add most of the syrup into the bottom crust with the apples then pour the rest over the latticed top crust and with sprinkle cinnamon & sugar. This recipe makes a very pretty pie that I would be confident serving to guests as well as family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Reviewed: May 1, 2015
This has become my go-to. I LOVE this pie...and so does anyone else who tastes it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Everett, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2015
I have yet to figure out why this pie has such high ratings. It has no spices in it and lacks flavor. It is awful! It was a waste of great ingredients! Apple pie should have spices in it, and I should have known better when I thought I should try this! NEVER AGAIN! YUK!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brenda

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by mcorson1101
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2015
Amazeballs!! Just Amazeballs
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mcorson1101

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA
Living In: Waynesburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2015
This is an excellent recipe. I did make some changes that I feel added to the complexity of the flavor. 1. I added 2 teaspoonfuls of a good Vanilla Extract at the end of the butter/sugar mixture. 2. I sprinkled ground cinnamon (to taste) over the apples after placing them in the pie tin. Everyone loved the result. Thank you for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dad's world famous

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2015
This was the easiest thing to make and I'll be a son-of-a -gun, it was simply delish. I even latticed the top crust so it even looked like it came from heaven :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2015
outstanding would recommend to anyone,my 4year old son and my partner now demand it even time they come home from school and work and end up fighting over the last bit! even my step children demand it now an they are very piky eatters 100% loverly
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2015
I don't usu make pies but my boyfriend loves Apple pie so I chose this recipe. I made the mistake of not using all the apples which caused my pie to collapse and I also drizzled the sauce over the edges and it looks burnt but it was amazing. I added cinnamon to my apples and added a tablespoon more of sugar. Definitely going to make this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 6,397) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Pie by Grandma Ople

Learn how to make Grandma Ople's famous apple pie.

Dutch Apple Pie

Watch how to make a crumbly topped apple pie.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States