Apple Pie by Grandma Ople Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2015
I made this pie last fall when just starting out at baking pies and it was such a hit I made three more times that month! I had almost forgotten about it and until I knew I needed an all american apple pie for the fourth of July this weekend and panicked that I wouldn't find the right one, but forgot it was one of the top rated and its for obvious reason, it's the Best!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Natalie Ensor

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2015
WOW this is THE BEST Apple Pie Recipe I've ever tried. It's SO simple and the taste is incredible. I followed exactly as directed and it was a huge success. This will be the only one I use from now on :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sarina Freyta
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2015
Unbelievable! It was to good! I found a recipe for the crust, a butter one and it turned out amazing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarina Freyta

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Crystal Growe
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2015
This was my 1st attempt at homemade apple pie. turned out beautifully and it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal Growe

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2015
I made the recipe without reading the reviews. Added cinnamon just because. This was my first pie and it was amazing. I learned a few tricks afterward that I will apply - bake on lowest rack in over and brush bottom crust with egg white to prevent it from being soggy. I will also wait until cooler before slicing. It smelled so good, we didn't allow it to cool enough and it was a little watery at first. Popped it in the fridge, exercised patience and have to tell you that although I am normally a cake person, this pie was amazing. Will definitely make again and add vanilla and nutmeg to see if it makes a difference. Glad I used this recipe as my first pie recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mac030171
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2015
I made this for my co-workers and got rave reviews. The only tweaks I made was I used7 apples instead of 8 and I added cinnamon to the apples.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2015
Best apple pie recipe ever! I followed directions exactly and loved it. Thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Gabriela De Gracia Leftwich
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2015
I made this applie pie for my husband birthday and he raved about it! Probably the best tasting apple pie I've ever had. Sour, sweet, perfect texture (not runny or mushy). Because I only had salted butter I used that, the insides still tasted great even with the salt. But, with my salty homemade crust it was a tad bit too salty altogether. As everyone suggested I baked at 350 for 1 hr and used a pan for drips...this was a must! Will definitely be making this for upcoming family holidays!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2015
FOLLOWED THIS TO THE LETTER, & HAVE TO ADMIT IT WAS A STEP ABOVE. WILL BE BAKING IT AGAIN.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Perry, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2015
I'm completely blown away by this pie. I screwed up the filling somehow--the sugar wouldn't combine with the butter. So I just sort of smeared the sugar onto the apples and then poured the butter over it. Didn't matter--the pie came out so delicious I could hardly believe it. I don't like Granny Smith apples, so I used my favorites--Honey Crisp. I also added a teaspoon of cinnamon and a quarter teaspoon of nutmeg, plus a teaspoon of vanilla. I'm not a big fan of crispy crusts, so I only cooked the pie at an hour at 350. It was so soft and sweet and buttery and appley. For the crust, I used a Jiffy mix, but added three tablespoons of melted butter (instead of water) and a third of a cup of sugar, plus a quarter cup of white flour to make up for the extra liquid. The sweet crust really added to the pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kit Willihnganz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 6,426) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Pie by Grandma Ople

Learn how to make Grandma Ople's famous apple pie.

Dutch Apple Pie

Watch how to make a crumbly topped apple pie.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States