Apple Pie by Grandma Ople Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2015
It turned out really good and it's easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2015
What an easy and tasty recipe. Made a few tweaks and it was amazing. I used a store bought pie crust, which actually comes in a two pack. Used one for the bottom and removed the dough from the other tin for the top crust. I used 4 red and 4 green apples. Make sure they are at room temperature before slicing them. I added 1 teaspoon of cinnamon and 1 teaspoon of vanilla to syrup mixture. Once its all together and simmered, I poured about 90% of it over the apples while they were in a separate mixing bowl and mixed thoroughly. Then it poured everything into the pie crust. I did the lattice work with the top crust and with a spoon, covered the dough with the remaining syrup. Followed the baking times but still had some overflow. I just used a spoon and put it back on top. Once it was done, sprinkled some white sugar all over the top. I let cool before serving so the syrup would thicken and it cut and served perfectly. About 30 secs in the microwave and a scoop of ice cream later and it was the best pie have ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2015
I changed up the recipe as some others suggested and poured most of the sauce in the pan, saving just enough to put on top of the lattice for it to be sweet and crisp. This was my first apple pie (not my last) was totally delicious and a winner with guests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2015
Nothing else can be said, look at the number of reviews and rating-perfect pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2015
Based on the rating of this pie, I think I let my expectations get a little high. I made this pie on a few occasions and it was very good, but it just wasn't as flavorful as I had hoped. A minor issue I had when making the pie, I let the brown sugar mixture sit as I layered the apples and unfortunately, it hardened pretty quickly to the point where I couldn't spread it. When I tried pouring it, it just had to sit in one spot looking really clunky. So, when making my second pie, I layered the apples before even starting on the mixture so I could immediately pour it onto the pie, which seemed to fix the problem. Also, there isn't a great deal of the mixture, so I suggest doubling the ingredients for it. One last thought: I think it came out a lot better after pouring the sauce /in/ the pie as well as on top. Thank for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2015
excellent pie. Try with Honey Crisp apples. I find a slight tart apple makes the best pie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2015
Easy and quick to make. Liked it that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by C Schnitker

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2015
The first time I made it, it was amazing! Absolutely wonderful, so I decided to make it for some friends, and...forgot they lived 5000+ feet above sea level, unfortunately it didn't turn out the second time, but maybe also because we did a different crust on second one. Regardless, the first pie was amazing, and I couldn't get enough!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ann Howlette

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2015
My first time baking and it came out great.was easy as apple pie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kitchen Boss

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Akron, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2015
This recipe is amazing. I used it to make my first ever apple pie and it was really easy to follow and make. I followed some advice from reviews on here and added a tsp of vanilla and cinnamon because I love cinnamon and couldn't imagine an apple pie without it. I only used 6 apples (4 Granny Smith and 2 red delicious) because I didn't want it to be too tart and 8 apples would have been way too much in a 9in pie pan. Six was the perfect amount. Couple more things: I brushed the bottom crust with egg whites to keep it from getting soggy and I poured 3/4 of the sugar mixture over the apples Before I put the lattice crust on and the other 1/4 after and it was absolutely perfect. Next time I'll have to slice the apples much thinner (maybe 1/8 inch) to achieve the softness that I want because I had to bake it for an hour on the temp recommended and a half hour or more on 250 and the apples were still not as soft as I'd have liked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 6,359) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Pie by Grandma Ople

Learn how to make Grandma Ople's famous apple pie.

Dutch Apple Pie

Watch how to make a crumbly topped apple pie.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States