Apple Pie by Grandma Ople Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2014
I have no plans to make this one again and may not even get through the pie that I made. I followed the recipe as written, but did add 1 tsp of cinnamon, 1/2 tsp of nutmeg and a 1/2 tsp of vanilla as suggested in previous reviews. I do not feel that adding the additional spices compromised the pie. Actually, I couldn't imagine enjoying it without some spice. This pie is soupy and extremely sweet. My crusts baked just fine and the pie was beautiful going in and coming out of the oven. But I knew right away not to get my hopes up as far as being able to successfully slice it. Far too much liquid. I think the only way to serve the end result would be to warm up a few spoon fulls of it in a bowl and top it with some vanilla ice cream to cut the overpowering sweetness and flavor. Onto the next.. Back to testing out more classic recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by macycakes
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2014
This recipe is superb but I will say that after pouring the sugary mixture on to the crust of the pie it became hard and extremely difficult to cut and in my opinion the pie was a little sweet so on my second try at making this pie I added 1 tablespoon of lemon juice and 1/4 teaspoon of salt I also recommend mixing the sugary mixture into the apples before Laying down the top crust
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2014
I followed this recipe to a T and am very disappointed. Lacks flavor! I'll be sticking with my old recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2014
Tasted good, but I haven't made a pie before. So using these instructions it was a fail for me as far as appearance is concerned. Not faulting the recipe for my lack of knowledge. Read a section in my "joy of cooking" cookbook and will give it another go when I have extra apples again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2014
The recipe is the BEST apple pie in the history of pies :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2014
Excellent and utterly foolproof. I over-simmered the syrup and it got a bit chunky but still came out perfect. I added 1 tsp cinnamon in the syrup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2014
I have made this pie dozens of times. It is always a huge hit. My husbands favorite pie is apple and this recipe is his favorite of all he has tried. I always follow the recipe, but with time I learned to pour most of the filling in before the lattice top for ease of pouring. I always reserve some to brush or pour over the lattice because this really makes the crust great. For those who said they got a runny mess, try cooking your filling a bit longer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barb31540

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2014
amazing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2014
This apple pie is perfect in every way! Thank you so much for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2014
Great recipe!! My family and boyfriend loved it! Pretty easy to make and had a flakey crust! Did have to bake about 15 minutes longer. I took the advise of one of the other reviewers and mixed the apples with the cinnamon mixture and then put it in the pie crust. Came out perfect!! My go to apple pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 5,914) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Pie by Grandma Ople

Learn how to make Grandma Ople's famous apple pie.

Easy Classic Apple Pie

See how to make a simple apple pie with a flaky, golden-brown crust.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States