Apple Pie by Grandma Ople Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2015
The extended family now calls on me to bring apple pies to family functions! Easy recipie- great apple pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2015
I've made this twice and both times my butter and sugar seperated and it made for a bad pie. If someone can explain why this happens id appreciate it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brianna Renee Pope

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2015
I read the reviews before attempting this and tried 6 apples rather than 8. After the pie was done I realized I could have definitely used 8. I only had red delicious apples, but they were fine; put the apples in the pie plate first, poured the sugar sauce on top and then put the pie crust on last (of course cut slits in the top, but didn't do lattice work because I didn't have time) and sprinkled white sugar on the crust. Put it on a baking sheet, and left in 10 minutes longer than directed and used a crust cover until the last 5 minutes. The pie was really good, tasted like apple crisp; however it did collapse when I cut into it, so I am hoping it firms up in the fridge. Next time I'll try pouring the sauce over the lattice work crust as directed above. Very good and really sweet, thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2015
I loved this recipe. I did add some apple pie seasoning. I also tossed the apples with the sauce before putting them in the pan. I am adding some caramel chips to the recipe this next time..YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EJ Simpson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2015
Best apple pie ever!!!!! I used this recipe for a 4th of July apple pie contest and won 1st prize. The judges stated no ones pie came close to mine. I highly recommend this recipe. I added cinnamon to the apples before applying the sauce. otherwise I followed this recipe to the T. PERFECT!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2015
Followed the directions and used the ingredients as indicated. The crust was hard and burnt, the bottom of the pie was watery without the apples being fully cooked or flavorful. If I were to make it again, I would decrease the butter, decrease the apples, omit the water, and stir the apples into the syrup. I would add a little cinnamon and nutmeg, too. For now, I'm trying to figure out what to do with the leftovers as I don't want to waste the ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori Cerny

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2015
Didn't change a thing! Apples are the star and the glaze on the top, as per original recipe just give it a little boost of sweetness. I suggest to keep it as it is for a true Apple pie that is delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2015
Great recipe, easy to follow. Apples were very moist and the crust had great texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jay Lo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by xSn0wfl4kex
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2015
wow after all these years I just realized I have never submitted a review, just taken pictures. Well, it's probably because I feel there is not much more I could add that hasn't already been said. This is my go to recipe I have made this every Christmas since I first discovered it YEARS ago, it really is a fantastic recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by xSn0wfl4kex

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eden Prairie, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Vallejo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2015
I pour the apple slices into the same pot with the melted sugar, then pour into the pie crust. The perfect apple pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brian Longo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 6,444) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Pie by Grandma Ople

Learn how to make Grandma Ople's famous apple pie.

Dutch Apple Pie

Watch how to make a crumbly topped apple pie.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States