Apple Pie by Grandma Ople Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2014
This apple pie I have been stuck making since I found it. My family and friends love it. This is one recipe if you share it your stuck making it EVERY gathering!!! Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2014
This is a beautiful apple pie! I added a teaspoon of cinnamon and a dash of cloves because you HAVE to have cinnamon in apple pie! I've been making pies since I was 10 but have never been able to get a lattice crust correct until I watched this video! thanks! I also used Chef John's all butter pie crust which is perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2014
Just made this Exactly as it is listed, and had a taste. I have to say, best apple pie ever! Definitely recommend this, just make sure you follow the directions and it will come out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by dhi
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2014
Only my 2nd homemade Apple pie ever and it was amazing! Added the teaspoon of cinnamon to the sugar mixture and used the butter crust recipe found on this site. Just amazing! Thank you for sharing this special recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2014
Was ok but wouldn't make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sharon Shae Jenkins
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2014
I rated this recipe a 5 because I have never baked an Apple pie. This pie turned out tremendously awesome! I added a few ingredients like some vanilla and cinnamon and also pieces of pie dough in the apples and baked. Turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by maryscookin
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
I've seen this recipe over the years here on allrecipes and thought I needed to try it! I made it for Christmas dinner and what a hit! We are empty-nesters and I have a small ceramic pie plate so I scaled back the recipe to fit. The directions don't say how long to cook the sauce and I think mine cooked a little too long, but it was still delish! After the pie was in the oven, I watched the video instructions (which I should have done first!)and it says to cook the sauce about 5 minutes. I'll know for next time...and there WILL be a "next time"...my husband is all ready asking when I'm going to make this again! I was surprised how good this pie was without any cinnamon...it just doesn't need it! Thank you Moshasmama for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by maryscookin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Monroe, Washington, USA
Photo by Ruby Grasshopper
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
Great recipe! It's my go to recipe for the holidays. I use granny smith apples and red delicious because I like a super sweet apple pie. Make sure you have a pie dish that is kind of deep or all of the different sugars with ooze out possibly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
Believe the hype, this pie is actually so nice and really simple, super super good, No complaints I'd say. Its very simple even making the crust, I made a buttery flaky pie crust using a recipe on this site which was also VERY good, try it. PS i also added some cinnamon and vanilla i think its what made this pia that much better, your choice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
The issue in this recipe is the water and the cooking time. Mine was runny, too, like others. I have looked at a number of other apple pie recipes, and they don't contain water and actually also call for cornstarch in addition to the flour. This recipe calls for simmering the mixture, but it doesn't say for how long and that's the problem. It apparently needs to be simmered long enough to cook out the water but one wouldn't know that because it doesn't indicate. I personally would not include the water next time and would also add 2 tsp cornstarch to the flour. I added 2 tsp cinnamon, 1/2 tsp nutmeg, 1/4 tsp clove and 1 tsp vanilla, which marry beautifully with apples and made it delicious. One other change - I added the mixture to the apples before putting the lattice on top and saved 1/4 cup of the mixture to brush the top with. This way the apples were all uniformly covered.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 6,290) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Apple Pie by Grandma Ople

Learn how to make Grandma Ople's famous apple pie.

Dutch Apple Pie

Watch how to make a crumbly topped apple pie.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States