Apple Pie Slices Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2014
Darn tasty, but the recipe for the crust wasn't very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by gmoh005
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2013
Perfection. Added 1/2 c flour
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gmoh005

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2013
This was delish! Substituted butter for shortening. Want to try the recipe using cherries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by It's A New Day
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2013
I halved the recipe and baked in a 9x9" pan. I used three large Cameo apples. I added a little flour with the apples as per other reviews and added just a touch of nutmeg. I wasn't completely sold on the end result but DH thought it was great. I'm thinking it would be better with sour apples. It really does need to cool in order to be bars. If you cut it hot, it is apple pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by It's A New Day

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Purcellville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Winchester, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2012
I have made this recipe 5 or 6 times in the past 3 months - absolutely love it! I made it yesterday for Thanksgiving (rather than pie) and had several compliments. I've had a few people at work ask for the recipe too! I especially love the crust! Will keep with my "favorites"!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2009
They were pretty good, though it didn't turn out to be apple "bars". It was more of a crisp. The only way it would stay in bar form was if it was in a really cold fridge for a couple hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Meadow Brady

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Alma, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2008
These are super delicious, but I was under the impression that this would be easier than making an actual pie and it wasn't. I still had to make the dough and roll it out. I imagine it wouldn't be too difficult to substitute a storebought pie crust, though, if one wanted something slightly simpler.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bay City, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lansing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2005
This is pretty good, but there is a similar recipe on this site called "Apple Sheet Cake" by Barbara (not sure why it is called cake, it's nothing like a cake and very much like apple pie!) that is a little bit better. The dough is simpler and the filling is thickened. Either recipe is definitely worth a try though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chellebelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2004
So yummy. A little bit of work but very worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2004
These were absolutely delicious. I made only a single recipe for the crust, and had plenty. I did add the extra flour to the filling, and was glad I did. Also, we happened to use some dehydrated apple slices we had from our food storage, this was a great use for them. yumm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Encinitas, California, USA
Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Apple Pie I

See how to make a simple, 5-star apple pie.

Easy Classic Apple Pie

See how to make a simple apple pie with a flaky, golden-brown crust.

Apple Pie Spirals

These tasty apple morsels are an elegant alternative to traditional pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States