Apple Pie Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2008
Ohhhhh my...I am so happy to be one of the lucky few who chose to make these muffins as Jan (the submitter) intended, and refrained from any modifications, especially adding all kinds of distracting spices. I agree with Mollytina and her review completely that the wonderful apple flavor just shines through! And the bit of cinnamon in the topping is just the right amount to complement the apples. (No wonder Jan calls these Apple Pie Muffins!) If I had added all that cinnamon and other spices that others thought it was necessary to do, I would have never known what I was missing! These muffins are refreshingly delicious. The recipe stands, in my book, with no corrections necessary and will become a favorite I'll go back to often. Thanks for your wonderful recipe Jan!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
328 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
Wow, these are awesome! It's like eating apple pie in a muffin! What a perfect name for these moist, delicious, nicely spiced treats. No need for any additional spices, the apple flavor really is the hero here. I wouldn't change a thing! I baked these in Texas sized muffin tins and got a little over half a dozen, lucky me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
186 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by CC♥'s2bake
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2010
Amazing muffins. If you are looking for a decadent muffin to serve guests, or just as a special treat, you really should try this recipe. I made these exactly as written and I wouldn't change a thing. The crumb topping is so out of this world that the muffin itself does not need any added spices. The two were a perfect balance for each other. Moist, flavorful. Grease your muffin tins very well and fill the cups to the top as directed, and you will obtain gorgeous, huge muffin tops that hold all of that spectacular crumb topping. It took a few minutes of careful excavation to remove them from the pan with the tops intact, but letting them cool for about 10 minutes helped.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2007
My daughter entered these for her first year of 4-H foods and won Reserve Champion!! She added 3 cups of apples, 1 1/2 t cinnamon & 1 t nutmeg to the batter and 1 t cinnamon and 2 dashes nutmeg to the topping. She made several batches as they were easy to make and she never had any leftover. Everyone loved these!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2006
I made this recipe twice. The first time I thought it could use a little more cinnamon taste to the batter, so that next time I mixed a little sugar and cinnamon and tossed the apples in this and then added them to the batter. I made these for a fund raiser at work and they got rave reviews. I am anxious to try the recipe with blueberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2006
I thought that these were great. I didn't read the reviews before making them so I didn't add any extra spices to the batter. They were ok coming out of the oven but the next day they were super good and moist. Also, you only need to make half the topping cause even after I generously topped my 15 muffins, I still had lots left over!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LDSGIRL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CHASINRABBITS
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2007
these are gorgeous muffins! made em exactly as posted and they taste good, but everyone was right about the spices. ill definitely add a little cinnamon and fresh nutmeg to the batter next time. great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHASINRABBITS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2007
These were good, but not great. It has a lot of sugar in it. I did add 1 tsp cinnamon and 1/2 tsp nutmeg to the mixture, and then 1 1/2 tsp cinnamon and 1/2 tsp nutmeg to the topping. I used Granny Smith apples - 2 heaping diced cups worth, and still did not have much apple flavor. My husband liked them, but again, too sweet and little apple flavor for me. I have had apple cake before from Tastefully Simple, and that is what it reminded me of. High rating is from husband.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2006
Wonderful!!! I made a few changes...for the flour I used 1/2 whole wheat and in the topping I added ground cloves, ginger and nutmeg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2008
Very good. Everyone LOVED them. Definitely will be making these more often. I used chiquita to go apples and chopped them up instead of peeling whole apples, saved time and was easy to measure amount.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mfmenchi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Leominster, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 444) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

Apple Slab Pie

Apple pie baked in a rectangular pan with a crumble topping.

Easy Classic Apple Pie

See how to make a simple apple pie with a flaky, golden-brown crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States