Apple Pie Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2013
And I thought slicing apples for pie was fun! :D Two Grannies were two cups. Didn't do the streusel topping so I could tell how much I liked the muffin compared to the topping. Put spices (1t cinnamon, 1/4t each nutmeg, allspice, cloves) in the muffin. Followed some of Sara Jo's suggestions & subbed 1c whole wheat & 1 1/4c white with 1t baking powder. Also subbed lowfat plain yogurt for the buttermilk. Used 1c sugar. Really didn't taste like apple pie, more like apple cake? Very cute looking & I got 18, not 12. 'Sure the streusel topping makes these much better, but I wasn't all that impressed with just the muffin part. They did moisten up overnight, just no "Mmmm" moments. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rome, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
This recipe took care of my muffin craving! I didn't have any buttermilk so I added 1 tsp of cream of tartar and a tablespoon of apple cider vinegar. I with held the urge to add cinnamon to the batter. There is no need with the streusel topping. I added a fresh vanilla bean only because I had them on hand. They look store bought. Yummie!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hollie Alder
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
Made these to the recipe. 25 minutes was not enough for large muffins so some batter was uncooked. I baked the 2nd batch 35 minutes and they were perfect. Great flavor and I liked the spice only in the topping which let the apple flavo r shine. Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sidney, Ohio, USA
Living In: Sunbury, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2012
I made these muffins for our Christmas breakfast this year and they were so delicious and pretty. I didn't chop the apples super small so you got chunky apples in each bite. Will definitely make these again. People were talking about them all day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2012
Made these just as the recipe suggested. Very, very good the first day, absolutely delicious the second!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2012
I was so happy with this recipe! I added a healthy teaspoon of cinnamon to the batter like other reviewers suggested. They turned out perfectly! After trying them my boyfriend asked me to make it in loaf form right away! Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2012
This recipe was amazing! I changed it slightly so perhaps it should be 4 1/2 stars instead of 5 but I bet it would have been delicious regardless. I used an extra 1/2 cup of apples (4 small empires), and added a tsp of cinnamon and a 1/2 tsp of nutmeg to the muffin body. We are spice lovers so we like the very strong taste, however others may prefer the original recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2012
I made these muffins last night just as directions read and they are wonderful. The only thing I did not have on hand was the buttermilk so I just added two table spoons of vinegar to my one cup of milk and it worked out great. I will be making these again soon!!! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by d_abcpools

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2012
I read previous reviews and decided to make them just as Jan had. And I'm glad I did. Okay, okay, I must confess I did grate the apples rather than dice but only because I was making mini-muffins. Shredding seemed an easier tasks than dicing really really small pieces. (and of course reduced the baking time to 17 minutes instead of the full 25) Thank you, Jan!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vee Kuboth

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2012
These muffins are amazing!! My family goes crazy for them. I have made them several times now. The first time I made them exactly as written and they were perfect! The next times I made them I used egg whites in place of whole eggs and half butter, half applesauce in place of the butter and they were just as amazing! These changes were just to help keep my family a bit healthier, not because the original recipe needed editing. The recipe makes more than 12, I get 18 or so. Also the muffins do not rise too much, so fill up the cups a little higher than you normally do. Thanks for a great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 420) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

Easy Classic Apple Pie

See how to make a simple apple pie with a flaky, golden-brown crust.

Apple Crumble Pie

This fresh apple crumble pie is delicious and as easy as pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States