Apple Pie Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2013
I've made these twice - once for my family and once for a bake sale at work. They didn't last an hour at the bake sale! The first thing to sell out. These are delicious and moist. The only change I made is that I added cinnamon to the batter and added a pinch of nutmeg to the topping. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2013
I followed the recipe exactly - enjoyed it, however, I do not think it needs an entire stick of melted butter. I will definitely make this again, but will reduce the butter by at least a couple tablespoons; I don't think the moistness will be affected at all. The flavor is nice and not over-run with spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2013
Excellent, excellent, excellent!!! I took what other people said and kind of ran with it. Instead of chopping and cubing the apples, I grated them with a cheese grater (I peeled them first). It gives you much better distribution. I also used 3 cups of grated apple instead of 2 (about 3-4 apples). I also added some cinnamon and nutmeg to the batter, and nutmeg to the crisp topping. A little bit of nutmeg will go a very long way! I also used an extra TBSP of melted butter for the topping. I don't know why this recipe says it makes only 12 because I made 24, and that was filling them to the top... It's been requested that I make these again tomorrow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2013
Add more apples than the recipe says
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2013
These were great! I cut out 2T of butter and added some apple pie yogurt to make a little more healthy. I did use 5 cups of apples. A mix of gala and granny smith. Shredded and chunked. Make sure you do have plenty of chunks. I'm assuming that since I added extra apples, mine were not pretty like the picture, but the extra apples were well worth ugly muffins. Great recipe...moist and gooey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ankeny, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2013
These were really good, I liked that they weren't overpowered with spices...the apple flavor really came through. They were so moist they almost didn't seem done but they were. I did a fairly medium dice, next time I think I will do a finer dice just my preference. Everyone gobbled them up. Can't wait to make with local farm apples this fall!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AnnasBananas

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2013
I wish I could give 5 stars...I really do. While the muffins are extremely tasty and flavorful, they are extremely messy and don't rise. As other reviewers said, the muffins are flat and ooze over the muffin pan. I, too, followed the recipe to the letter. Next time I will add some baking powder, fill the tins 2/3 full and make 18-24 muffins versus the 12. I also think that par-baking the apples slightly before adding to the batter would help enhance the apple flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bloomington, California, USA
Living In: Henderson, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2013
Loved these muffins. I I didn't have buttermilk, and found I could use yogurt, so I used a cup of Greek yogurt instead of buttermilk. The muffins were delicious and I will make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Old Bridge, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Rubicon, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2013
Yum! FYI: 2 C. chopped apples was 1 large apple for me. I did not peel the apple due to time and they were just fine. Made 12 regular muffins and 12 mini muffins. :-) Very high sugar content though! Definitely "Apple Pie"! (1 C regular milk and 1 Tbs of vinegar, let sit 5 minutes for a buttermilk substitute.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2013
These muffins had good flavor but were a bit soggy. Nevertheless I still enjoyed them
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wichita Falls, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 444) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

Apple Slab Pie

Apple pie baked in a rectangular pan with a crumble topping.

Easy Classic Apple Pie

See how to make a simple apple pie with a flaky, golden-brown crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States