Apple Pie Ice Cream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2013
Very good. I diced the apples finely, and am glad I did. Had I sliced them as the recipe states, the large frozen pieces would have been an icy distraction. Cutting them finely allowed them to be more evenly dispersed throughout, and the spices contributed a definite apple pie flavor. I did not use the walnuts because of allergy issues. The use of the oatmeal cookie "crumble" was innovative and added a lovely flavor and crunch. All in all, a nice novelty ice cream change of pace, but not something I'd rush to make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baricat

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2013
Wow, this is sooo good. All of the mix-ins really make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2013
I cooked the ice cream mixture because of the eggs (I used the "Ice Cream Base Recipe" on this site), but I neglected to let it cool enough before adding it to the ice cream maker, so it didn't freeze up very well. Will remedy that next time. Because of that, I didn't add the caramel sauce to the ice cream and just served it on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lafayette, Indiana, USA
Living In: West Lafayette, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2013
Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2013
I made this recipe with minor changes.....VERY GOOD!!! The only thing I was curious about is the recipe calls for eggs but doesn't have you cook anything. Is this okay to eat with the uncooked eggs?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2012
OMG the taste is just like a apple pie my husband and grandchildren love it it is smooth with the crunch from the nuts and crispy cookies and they stay that way all I can say is YUM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Lakeland, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
Fabulous in all ways, wouldn't change a thing. I did cook the creams and egg because of the raw egg issue. If you do this, make sure the cooked mixture cools almost to room temp before putting it into the ice cream maker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2011
I did not have the cream so used whole milk and skim so got ice milk. I also used canned pie apples which if i do a second time will use 2 cans. Was very good as an Ice milk kind.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luvacook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Walla Walla, Washington, USA
Living In: Springfield, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2010
I used a different recipe for the ice cream base, and used ideas from this recipe to create my own version. I didn't like how this one was cinnamon, just wanted plain vanilla w/ crust and filling swirled into it. Great idea for oatmeal cookies as crust!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2010
The thought of eating raw eggs kind of grosses me out, so I left them out, and I used pecans instead of walnuts; I followed the rest of the recipe as written. It's up there with my all-time favorite ice creams ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

S’more Ice Cream Pie

See how to turn a campfire classic into an amazing ice cream treat.

Chef John’s Strawberry Ice Cream

Just in time for summer! See how to make quick, simple strawberry ice cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States