Apple Pie IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2006
This was a great Thanksgiving pie! After reading the reviews, I decided to saute the apples (I used 5 Granny Smith) with 1/4 cup of butter. After the apples had softened I added 1/2 c. sugar and the rest of the ingredients. I would definitely recommend it to anyone for an easy, delicious pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Midlothian, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2008
I really like the idea of cooking the apples first. You do not get the high pie shell and the apples lower in the pie plate when its finished cooking. You know where the top pie shell is, it is sitting on top of the apple. I found it had great flavour and everyone loved it with the apples a little softer. This was great! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brantford, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2008
Precooking the apples allows you to get the crust to fit the pie! It also allows you to adjust the sugar/spices to fit the sweetness of the apples you use. The only disadvantage is that it is very easy to overcook the apples. I find cooking apples by 'number' a bit strange as it depends on size of apples. I used about 8 cups of sliced apples for a 9" pie, 1/4 cup butter and 1/3 cup sugar (my apples were sweet) It could have used another 1/2 t of cinnamon and 1/4 t of nutmeg in my opinion. I also thickened the apples with 2T of rice flour (dissolved in about 1/4c water) and stirred into the apples at the end of precooking period. I want to experiment a bit more and try precooking the bottom crust, at least partially, to help prevent the 'soggy' and/or 'undercooked' bottom crust problem sometimes encountered--but that must wait for another day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by keydancer
Home Town: Redding, California, USA
Living In: Big Lake, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2006
Cooking the apple slices before putting them into the shell assures that you will not have "crispy apples" but instead of putting the apples in a pot to cook I put them into a large frying pan with the sugar and a little water (1/4 c.) and simmered until almost cooked through. I added a bit of corn starch to thicken--about 4 tsp.after they were simmered. Put everything into the shell, sprinkled with cinnamon and a tiny bit of mace. My family loved this. It is best to use firm apples so they don't get mushy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manchester, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by natzsm
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2012
Great technique! Pre-cooking the apples assures that the top crust would be firmly on the apples and have minimum space in between because they do not shrink anymore.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by natzsm

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Makati, National Capital Region, Philippines

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2007
Wonderful pie! We loved how wonderful cooking the apples before baking the pie made them taste. This one is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2008
I didn't have nutmeg so I didn't use any. I added a little bit of water to the apples, sugar and cinnamon so that it would be a bit juicy. It turned out great. I love apple pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2009
Excellent! My 5 yr. old is diabetic, and loves this pie! I replaced the sugar with splenda to reduce the carbs. and added a pinch allspice for our taste. I use a simple homemade crust. now Every one I know wants the recipe. THANKS for sharing this wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2005
Be careful not to overcook the apple slices or it will be too mushy. Also, be sure to not use the store brand crusts. Go with Pillsbury instead. I tried the store brand crust and it just didn't taste as good as Pillsbury's.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2007
This is a very easy, tasty pie...I will definitely use this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Apple Pie I

See how to make a simple, 5-star apple pie.

Easy Classic Apple Pie

See how to make a simple apple pie with a flaky, golden-brown crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States