Apple Pie IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2002
I liked the idea of cooking the apples, but didn't see how this would turn out to be a juicy pie and it didn't. I added 1/4 cup butter and it tasted okay, but it still wasn't my favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2005
Works out pretty good, just be careful not to cook the apples to hard, since they will also get cooked when they are baking in the pie itself! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2005
Be careful not to overcook the apple slices or it will be too mushy. Also, be sure to not use the store brand crusts. Go with Pillsbury instead. I tried the store brand crust and it just didn't taste as good as Pillsbury's.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2006
Cooking the apple slices before putting them into the shell assures that you will not have "crispy apples" but instead of putting the apples in a pot to cook I put them into a large frying pan with the sugar and a little water (1/4 c.) and simmered until almost cooked through. I added a bit of corn starch to thicken--about 4 tsp.after they were simmered. Put everything into the shell, sprinkled with cinnamon and a tiny bit of mace. My family loved this. It is best to use firm apples so they don't get mushy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manchester, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2006
Great and easy pie for a first time pie maker.....this one i will keep and teach my daughter to make its so easy....thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2006
This was an excellent recipe. I only used 5 apples though for one pie. Came out fantastic ... thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dphazelwood

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Aitkin, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2006
This was a great Thanksgiving pie! After reading the reviews, I decided to saute the apples (I used 5 Granny Smith) with 1/4 cup of butter. After the apples had softened I added 1/2 c. sugar and the rest of the ingredients. I would definitely recommend it to anyone for an easy, delicious pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Midlothian, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2006
Family liked this recipe. I will add a little more of the spices next time since the apples are cooked on the stove first. Loved this idea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bridgeport, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2007
My husband thought the apples tasted funny. The people I talked to never heard of cooking apples before hand, so maybe that was the problem. I am novice at baking pies, so I hate to rate this too low for it might have been something I done. I probably won't use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Traverse City, Michigan, USA
Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2007
I didn,t think it was sweet enough
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Georgia, USA
Living In: Oberlin, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Apple Pie I

See how to make a simple, 5-star apple pie.

Easy Classic Apple Pie

See how to make a simple apple pie with a flaky, golden-brown crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States