Apple Pie III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
Excellent! I used this recipe for the filling and I wouldn't change a thing, but for the crust I've used Allrecipes' "Basic Flaky Pie Crust" recipe (http://allrecipes.com/recipe/basic-flaky-pie-crust/detail.aspx) a couple of times. Next time, will give the crust in this recipe a go as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2012
This is the BEST apple pie. And the crust is perfect! I although seem to use Macintosh apples when i make it. Could never go back to a store bought apple pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2011
My boyfriend LOVES apple pie and this is now my go-to recipe for when I make one for him. When I'm pressed for time I just buy the pie crust instead of making it. Either way, the apple filling always turns out perfect. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Garden City, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2010
I am wondering if anyone knows where to find Yellow Transparent apples? My mother used to make the best applesauce out of them but we can no longer find them. Can anyone help?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2010
This is my go-to apple pie each Thanksgiving, though I love it any time of year! I cheat & buy a pre-made crust because any short cut I can take during Thanksgiving, makes my life simpler. This is delicious and really is easy as pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2010
Perfect - that's all I can say. Really easy to make and it tastes sooooo good. Even my husband liked it and usually the only cake he's eating is from his mom. ^^
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tammy Ferland

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2009
Loved it, and i have to make another one******************** Bravo
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chuch

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by nrgizrbune41
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2008
This pie was good although I did a couple of things different. I used my own great tasting flaky crust recipe - so why try another. I also more than doubled the filling to 2 1/2 times. But used 3/4 c. sugar. I prefer a stuffed apple pie. See photo of my pie. I also cover the crust ends for 3/4 of baking time with crust covers. This way the crust stays golden. When using firmer apples like granny smith or greenings; it takes longer to get the apples tender and if the crust isn't covered the ends get too dark and left on the plate.It also doesn't look good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nrgizrbune41

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Western, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2007
Very good pie, usually I put less sugar than the recipe, but I followed somebody's advise to actually add more sugar, so I did. I used all types of apples that we picked over the weekend (Mackintosh, Red delicious, Braburn)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oakville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2007
This was the first time I tried this recipe and I made a triple batch. Just from experience I allowed the apples to marrinate for 2 days and I also added twice as much cinnamon and also subed half the white sugar for brown sugar. There was plenty of juice and the apples were pretty soft. My family loved the pies and I already have requests for more...Thank you this was a great recipe to start with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Apple Pie I

See how to make a simple, 5-star apple pie.

Apple Slab Pie

Apple pie baked in a rectangular pan with a crumble topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States