Apple Pie III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2007
This was definitely not a keeper recipe. The pastry was way too dry, as was the filling. I thought it would be wonderful, since that's how it smelled while cooking. Unfortunately, we didn't have enough milk in the house to wash it down with. I guess I'll keep looking for a great apple pie recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2007
I thought the crust was pretty bad. It crumbled everywhere are didn't look nice at all. The filling was pretty good. I used McIntosh and Golden Delicious apples. My husband who eats everything sid it just tasted like flour and didn't one more then one peice. Kind of dissapointed. Next time I will maybe use the filling but find a different crust receipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2007
disclaimer - I haven't tried the crust recipe yet, had something else on hand. That said - an apple pie that tastes like apple instead of sugary goo. LOVE IT. The best! I used 3 Rhode Island Greenings and three Macouns and it was out of this world. Even my 4 yo who hardly tries ANYTHING tried and liked it. Hallelujah!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYNN ANNE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2007
Very good pie! I didn't have time to soak the apples overnight but I'm wondering if that's why some of you ended up with a mushy pie. I had to bake mine longer to get it fork tender. But everyone loved it! I topped it with whipped cream which was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeremy's Personal Chef

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Port Orchard, Washington, USA
Living In: Olalla, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2006
This was such a yummy recipe. I couldn't find any transparents here, so I used three golden delicious that were on the green side, and it was perfect. I added about an extra 1/8 c of sugar, and it was perfect. Still a little tart, as that's how my dad likes it. He is still raving about this pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2005
This pie turned out great and was soooo good. I used all granny smith apples and for the crust, I just bought the pillsbury roll out crust. I doubled the sugar and cinnamon, and I think that made a big difference. Next time, I will put even more sugar, not too much more, because I don't like it too terribly sweet. The top crust with the half and half and sugar was delicious, all around, 5 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becky

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2004
My husband liked it okay, but I wasn't too thrilled with the texture of the pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2004
The best apple pie I eve had! This lady is and apple pie goddess! Mmmmmmmmm good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2003
October 12,2003 This pie is soooooo!!!!good, I made one again this week...I used apples that I picked off of our apple tree in our yard...This pie is so simple to make... The filling is very juicy and not sweet...The crust was so easy to roll out also...I had to bake it longer, but I really filled the crust with a lot of apples...My new pie from now on!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2003
Excellent. I sliced the apples a little slimmer than I usually would, and they turned out so soft and sweet. I decorated the crust with a few of the covered apple slices, and ended up handing out the recipe to several friends who raved about it. A new family favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Apple Pie I

See how to make a simple, 5-star apple pie.

Easy Classic Apple Pie

See how to make a simple apple pie with a flaky, golden-brown crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States