Apple Pie II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2007
Mmmm, I'm actually eating a slice now and it's sooo good, buttery but it's worth the calories! I used a butter crust found on this website, and organic golden delicious apples, didn't have cornstarch so I sprinkled the apples with flour while they were cooking... and let it bake. My sortof mistake was that the crust didn't brown by the time the apples were done (dripping out of the pie- use a cookie sheet underneath the pie pan while baking) so the crust wasn't done and I broiled it and it burned really quick but I think it made a flavor that wouldn't otherwise be there and it's caramelly delicious. I used all brown sugar too, and a bit of cinamon and cloves... it's so good I don't mind one bit that it's burned. "So don't broil it if it's for company"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Owego, New York, USA
Living In: Groveland, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2006
I made the apple pie last night and it taste absolutely delicious. However next time I will cut back on the sugar (too sweet) and I will more than likely put 3-4 tbsp of corn starch to prevent runny apple filling. I added some vanilla extract and cinnamon to taste. I will definetly use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2006
This was a perfect recipe for me. My husband actually does not like cinnamon. So, if I make it for us, I can leave it out. If I make it to take somewhere, I can add the spices I want. Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2006
Apple mix was too liquidy when poured into crust didnt solidify when baked. Will cut apple juice in half next time. Except for that little point the recipe is great. Along with other reviewers I really liked being able to taste the apple mix before baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2006
This was the first time I've ever made apple pie and I couldn't believe that I made something so good. This is better than any store bought apple pie I've ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stacey smith

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Fountain Inn, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Lemoore, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2006
it was a hit....i added rasberries and sweetend to tast though
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2006
Just made it for Thanksgiving and everyone loved it. Great recipe! I'll use it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2006
Very good but too sweet especially with the juice (I used OJ) - I recommend using 1/4 cup brown sugar and then later 1/4 cup white. Must add vanilla and cinnamon! For a treat add 1/4 cup dried cranberries. So good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suzy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Northridge, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2006
This pie is YUMMY!!!! The apple juice really adds great flavor. I topped mine with sprinkled sugar before baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2006
okay...what I liked: got to taste the filling and adjust before putting in to pie. Didn't have to cook as long, thus pastry was golden instead of tan. What I didn't like: took much longer to prepare than a reg. apple pie and basicaly came out the same. Think I will just stick to the regular apple pie recipie, thanks anyways
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 100) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Apple Pie I

See how to make a simple, 5-star apple pie.

Apple Slab Pie

Apple pie baked in a rectangular pan with a crumble topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States