Apple Pie II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2009
all I can say is EXCELLENT.....i've tried a few different apple pie recipes from this site and this is the BEST by far....i followed darcy's updated submission and subst. 1/2 c wh. sugar w/ br. sugar and instead of apple juice, orange juice and added nutmeg and cinnamon....i'm sure the original recipe would be just as fine but i LOVE br. sugar and i only had orange juice on hand...perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROBBNMEE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Montclair, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
Wonderful...it was so good my dogs jumped up on the counter and ate it so I had to make another one. Oh well, those things happen!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TAMISTAR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Living In: Holland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2009
This pie is awesomely good. I substituted pineapple juice and a little lemon for the apple juice, as I didn't have it on hand. Taste was yummy. I lowered the sugar to 2/3 cup total, of which half was brown sugar, added a teaspoon of vanilla, cinnammon, and a dash of nutmeg. And I used Gravenstein apples, as they offer a little tartness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sagewood

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rogue River, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2009
Came out great and was very easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alana

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2009
this pie is wonderful-the only thing i did diffrent was use granny smith apples and added 1 teaspoon of cinnamon. i will use this for all family gatherings. it is great-thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2009
Was very good and easy to make!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Krystal Griffin Whitwell

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hohenwald, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2009
Very good. I made changes as suggested by others. Orange juice, brown sugar and white sugar, cinnamon and a touch of nutmeg, tablespoon of lemon juice. I also added about 1/3 cup dried cranberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sally

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2008
This pie was a hit at the Thanksgiving Dinner that I hosted for 25 people! Only thing I did different, I used 1 tbsp of Apple Pie Spice. I just sent my dad the recipe for him to make it for his co-workers in Austin. Great recipes!!! FOOL PROOF!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katy Blaylock

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Lubbock, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2008
I wish that I could give it 10 stars...this is the apple pie recipe that I have been looking for. I am a professional cook/baker and have tried hundreds of different apple pie recipes. In the past they have always been to runny, or the apples were too hard, or the bottom crust not cooked well enough, but not with this one. This is the one that reminded me of the great pie I ate as a kid. It will be the only apple pie that I will ever make again. I did raise the amount of cornstarch to 4 Tablespoons and also added in fresh nutmeg and cinnamon. This is a keeper....YUMMO!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Seb

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Cadillac, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2008
This Pie was AMAZING!!! We made it in multiples for a pie party- a bunch of us got together and made two pies per lady- one to donate to charity and one to take home--- I had my pie and this was the best apple pie I've had!!! The only change we made was adding a tsp of cinnamon! YUMMMMMMYYYYYYYYY
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 94) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Apple Pie I

See how to make a simple, 5-star apple pie.

Easy Classic Apple Pie

See how to make a simple apple pie with a flaky, golden-brown crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States