Apple Pie II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 31, 2004
I will be upfront. I submitted this receipe several years ago. It continues to be my favorite apple pie. I should have suggested some additions and alternatives that I use when I submitted this recipe, so I will now. First, you can substitute the first 1/2 cup of "white" granulated sugar with brown sugar. I also often add spices, such as cinnamon, nutmeg, or ginger. Finally, I usually use orange juice instead of apple juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
128 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Merced, California, USA
Living In: Ayden, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2006
Great flavor. Had to tweak it just a little. Took the suggestion from other reviewers and added a teaspoon of cinnamon and reduced the amount of sugar to 3/4 cup. My husband thought it was perfectly sweet with the reduced amount of sugar. Also added a tablespoon of lemon juice that I read from another recipe. Personal tip: I found it easier to remove the apples and thicken the syrup and then stir the apples and syrup together. I wanted to be sure that I didn't have any clumps of cornstarch in the bottom. Will definitely make again! Thanks, Darcy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
74 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2006
This pie is really good. I've always made apple pie the traditional way but would fret the whole time it cooked wondering if it was going to be too runny, too tart, etc. Its so much easier making it this way, pretty much fool proof. I added 1 tsp cinnamon and used macs cuz thats what I had. The only tip I have is to cut the apple slices pretty thick so they stay in tact. I think I'll use this recipe from now on. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2006
I made the apple pie last night and it taste absolutely delicious. However next time I will cut back on the sugar (too sweet) and I will more than likely put 3-4 tbsp of corn starch to prevent runny apple filling. I added some vanilla extract and cinnamon to taste. I will definetly use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2008
I wish that I could give it 10 stars...this is the apple pie recipe that I have been looking for. I am a professional cook/baker and have tried hundreds of different apple pie recipes. In the past they have always been to runny, or the apples were too hard, or the bottom crust not cooked well enough, but not with this one. This is the one that reminded me of the great pie I ate as a kid. It will be the only apple pie that I will ever make again. I did raise the amount of cornstarch to 4 Tablespoons and also added in fresh nutmeg and cinnamon. This is a keeper....YUMMO!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Seb

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Cadillac, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2006
I love this recipe! It is sooooooooooo easy my 12-yr-old actually made the pies all be herself. She actually made two - One just as it appears for the potluck luncheon at church (everyone loved it!) and one for herself & her daddy who are diabetic. For the "diabetic pie" she replaced the sugar with Splenda, used Old Orchard Healthy Balance apple juice (75% less sugar, sweetened with Splenda) and cut the butter in half. The "diabetic pie" was so good we felt guilty eating it & she had to tell us which was which.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2006
This is THE BEST apple pie I have ever tasted. I am not fond of pie in general, but wanted to try it as my family loves it. I used the orange juice, like someone had suggested, added 1 tsp. vanilla, 1/2 tsp. cinnamon, 2 dashes nutmeg. A keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ruston, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lorena
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2006
Just the BEST!!!! I also paired it with the french pastry pie crust recipe and it was perfect, the flavors/texture combine so well. I only made a lil change, instead of apple juice I added a splash of white wine, WOW!!!! you only have to wait for the alcohol to evaporate. Maybe next time i'll cut down on sugar because white wine makes apples mixture even sweeter. I made this pie yesterday night and i'm sure i´ll have to make it again next weekend!! Thanks for sharing this great recipe, Gracias!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lorena

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Vigo, Galicia, Spain
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2007
The best apple pie I've ever had and made. Don't bother with a bakery this one is guaranteed to make everyone happy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2006
This recipe was awesome!!! I had to tweak it a little but it still came out great. I would add cinnamon, nutmeg, allspice, vanilla extract, brown sugar instead of white sugar and lemon juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 95) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Apple Pie I

See how to make a simple, 5-star apple pie.

Apple Slab Pie

Apple pie baked in a rectangular pan with a crumble topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States