Apple Pie II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2011
As written, the recipe would definitely be lacking--at the very least, cinnamon is a necessity in apple pie .... for me, anyway. I used Nitin apples that I got at the farmer's market--WONDERFUL for pie! They gave up so much liquid that I think half as much apple cider would have been plenty. I did use 4T cornstarch, 3 would probably have been just right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deborah Jacques

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
great way to make apple pie; you won't have to worry about the apples being hard
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2010
Best apple pie I've have had. Made it straight from recipe without any changes. Froze it uncooked for 2 days and then thawed it and cooked it and it came out great. Will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
This pie was really good but I did one thing a little different. I like to be able to pick up my piece of pie in my hand and eat it. I added a bit more cornstarch and when the apple were cooked I used a potatoe masher and ran it down into the apples to make the apple pieces very small. It was wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
This was my first attempt at an apple pie. I followed the suggestions of others by using orange instead of apple juice, added a teaspoon of vanilla extract, and a half teaspoon of cinnamon and nutmeg, plus a quarter teaspoon cloves and ginger. I added all of the above in whith the juice/sugar mix, plus I subbed a quarter cup brown sugar in and cut the white sugar by a quarter cup. I also only had one prepared pie crust, so I topped my pie with a crumb topping from this site. It came out wonderfull! My only complaint is that next time I'll make more of the filling as it didn't fill the crust to my liking, maybe I needed more apples. ;) Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ReginaC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Emporia, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2010
I used his recipe as a base recipe and tweaked it to make it my own. I used less sugar and added a little lemon juice and some cinnamon. I also used more starch than called for so it wouldn't be runny. Turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2010
Used the recipe for its pie filling and I was not disappointed. Had to substitute double flour for cornstarch and it was still great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2010
I've made this multiple times for family events, everyone LOVES it and begs for the recipe. When I tell them how its made they can't believe how easy it is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MakeItBetterMom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2010
I loved this recipe using apple juice. I changed the recipe a little using 1 cup apple juice and only 1/4 cup sugar and added 2 teaspoons of cinnamon for the filling. For the crusts I used my Miracle Baking Powder Pie II recipe. My father and brother says "Yummmmy".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by skmccormick

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Corona, California, USA
Living In: Randle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2010
Husand Approved as the BEST APPLE PIE he's every had...followed up with can I have another half. Love it! Thanks for the perfect way to get the apple filling to your liking before serving it up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ephrata, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 98) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Apple Pie I

See how to make a simple, 5-star apple pie.

Apple Slab Pie

Apple pie baked in a rectangular pan with a crumble topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States