Apple Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
This was my first apple pie and while it did turn out good it wasn't as gooey as I'd like. I added a couple tablespoons of flour like others suggested, maybe I added too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bridgett

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sherwood, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
Perfect apple pie recipe, very simple and easy to follow recipe. I've been making apple pies for a while now and find the simpler recipes are better. They let the quality of the apples shine! I also add a little nutmeg as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Cruz, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2010
First pie I ever made and it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jesse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hill Afb, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2010
I have made this recipe 4x now, without alterations...except I did what others said and added 2 tbsp of flour to help setting. My brother-in-law loved it so much he made a special request for me to make it for Thanksgiving Dinner - I made 2 of them and they were a huge hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2010
tasty classic apple pie. This is just how Grandma used to make it! Thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2010
Made this for thanksgiving and it was delicious! I followed 'Ellen's' alterations and added an extra 1 tsp. of cinnamon so the recipe was as follows: 6 cups Sliced Apples, 3/4 cup Brown Sugar, 2 tsp. Cinnamon, 1.5 TBsp. Lemon Juice, 1/2 tsp. Vanilla, 1/4 tsp. Nutmeg, 2 TBsp. Flour, 1 TBsp. Butter. Just mixed the apples with all the ingredients except butter (dotted this on top last) and placed it in the shell, made a nice cross-thatch top and popped it in the oven for 45 mins. Mmmm delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by xoxololl
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2010
Easy to make and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2010
Delicious pie! My sister & I made this with my mother in law's famous pie crust recipe. We added 1 tbsp. lemon juice, used 1/2 cup brown sugar & 1/4 cup white sugar, added 1 tsp. vanilla and 2 tbsp. flour. The apples were not as done as we would have liked but that may be because we sliced each apple into 16 slices, may work better sliced into 24 slices per apple. Delicious when warmed with vanilla ice cream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hardrockgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yorba Linda, California, USA
Living In: Mechanicsville, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2010
I used 1/2 cup brown sugar and 1/4 cup white sugar. I also added a splash of lemon juice. It turned out great! (Based on the suggestion of another user, I coated the top layer of the pie with an egg wash of 1 egg and 1 tablespoon milk)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2010
Besides using brown sugar instead of white, i also added 2 tablespoons of flour. I followed the rest of the direstions in the receipe and the pie turnt out very well. This was my first attempt and I must say I am looking forward to my next pie. Thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 371) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Apple Pie I

See how to make a simple, 5-star apple pie.

Apple Slab Pie

Apple pie baked in a rectangular pan with a crumble topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States