Apple Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2013
I thought it was dry...but then I realized I forgot the butter. Ooops. Still pretty good. its for a bake sale, so if its dry..its not my problem!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: West Fargo, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2013
I made this pie with only the most suggested tweeks from the reviews, 1/4 cup of flour tossed in with apples, sugar and spice. Bit of lemon juice and eggwash with sugar/cinn sprinkle and it was AMAZING omg . yummmm the tip of putting it on the lowest rack and cooking it at a high temp the first few minutes saved me from ruining the bottom crust like i always do . Thanks !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TrueNorthCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2013
We love the taste of this recipe. The only problem that I had was that the pie was very soupy and runny. I added 3 tbs. of flour but this was not enough. I would like to make this again as my family really love it, but not sure on how to make less runny.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by AmericanHomeCook
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2013
Tastes like Grandma's! Added nutmeg and cloves. Very good with a scoop of vanilla ice cream on top. Classic recipe. I'll make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AmericanHomeCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2013
I love this recipe! The only change I make is that I put all of the apples in a big bowl and mix the dry ingredients with the apples and let it sit while I roll out my crusts. Then I put the apple mix in dotting the layers with the butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2013
Easy and wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2012
This apple pie was super easy to make. I made it the night before thanksgiving and it probably could've stayed in the oven a little longer as the crust seemed a little under done. I simply through it in the over for 20 additional minutes on low before serving it warm to my guests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beverly

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2012
This was my first pie ever making. My husband and I loved it. It was easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Watsonville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
I add raisins plumped in water. I then heat the raisin water and add some dissolved cornstarch to thicken, a tiny bit of lemon juice, and some nutmeg and a dash of brown sugar. Before putting the apples into the crust , I use a fork to poke holes in the bottom crust, then add this thickened "sauce" to the pie, dust the apples with flour, then close the crust. There have been raves. It's a tweak of an original found here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2012
This was a really easy apple pie recipe. Honestly, you just toss everything into a pie shell and bake. I cheated and used a store bought pie crust, which I know took a lot of the taste away. I normally bake my own pie crust and that makes all the difference. It was a little on the sweet side, so next time I will not use as much sugar. I had the same issue with the pie being a little runny, but the next day it was fine. Next time, I will wait a full day before I cut into the pie, if i can wait that long.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandra Barber Hughes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Frederick, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 376) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Apple Pie I

See how to make a simple, 5-star apple pie.

Apple Slab Pie

Apple pie baked in a rectangular pan with a crumble topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States