Apple Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
I add raisins plumped in water. I then heat the raisin water and add some dissolved cornstarch to thicken, a tiny bit of lemon juice, and some nutmeg and a dash of brown sugar. Before putting the apples into the crust , I use a fork to poke holes in the bottom crust, then add this thickened "sauce" to the pie, dust the apples with flour, then close the crust. There have been raves. It's a tweak of an original found here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2012
This was a really easy apple pie recipe. Honestly, you just toss everything into a pie shell and bake. I cheated and used a store bought pie crust, which I know took a lot of the taste away. I normally bake my own pie crust and that makes all the difference. It was a little on the sweet side, so next time I will not use as much sugar. I had the same issue with the pie being a little runny, but the next day it was fine. Next time, I will wait a full day before I cut into the pie, if i can wait that long.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandra Barber Hughes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Frederick, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2012
Perfect, simplicity is best! I've made pies before and I don't like to get fussy or have the filling turn out tasting like the canned stuff. Special thanks to my neighbor who has an apple tree (Haralson apples).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2012
I actually have a question about this recipe.. this would be the first pie Ive made.. I have apple pie spice can I use that in place of the cinnamon and nutmeg? If so Im not sure how much to use.. And someone told me if you use the premade pie crust you should bake the bottom crust a little first has anyone done it like that?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2012
Very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lilmizzc00kie
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2012
Simple and good recipe! I also used 2 Tbsp lemon juice and 2 Tbsp flour. And I too mixed everything for the filling together then poured into the crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lilmizzc00kie

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2012
Wow Carol, this is so much more simple than I thought it was going to be in making homemade apple pie. Granted I cheated and used store-bought pastry, but I was always intimidated with the filling. How much easier could it get than throwing 4 ingredients together into a pie plate? My husband didn't believe that I made this! He actually made me show him the apple peelings in the garbage can LOL!! Talk about a back handed compliment :-) This was awesome and I will be making again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Clermont, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2012
Awesome! This is the first pie I ever attempted to make from scratch and it turned out great! I used Butter Flaky Crust from this website. My husband said it was the best crust he had ever tasted! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Tukwila, Washington, USA
Living In: Everett, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2012
Simple and delicious! I used Fuji apples instead, but it still came out pretty good (I did have a lot of excess cinnamon-sugar apple "juice" soaking my crust even when I had egg washed the crust. I need to somehow make it solid instead of liquid).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by betherfly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2012
Very easy apple pie recipe. Thank you! My boyfriend loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 368) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Apple Pie I

See how to make a simple, 5-star apple pie.

Easy Classic Apple Pie

See how to make a simple apple pie with a flaky, golden-brown crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States