Apple Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2009
My neighbor has an apple tree that drops apples between both our yards. I didn't realize they were not crab apples until her grown sons told me we could eat them! So, I discovered this recipe and made our weight in apple pies last year! This is fabulous and is now my family's new favorite of all my dessert pies. If I recall, mine turned out a bit watery, so I have to work on that this year. My husband and I peel and slice together, then I toss the apples with sugar and cinnamon in a large bowl before putting them into the pie shell. I also dust the inside of the pie shell with sugar-cinnamon-flour mixture before laying out the apples in our favorite spiral pattern. I alternate between the full crust with decorative slits with shape cutouts and the basket weave. Either way it's topped and decorated, it's a fabulous recipe that makes mouths happy! I highly recommend this awesome classic apple pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2009
My pie turned out too dry. It might have been the apples I used but I will surely alter the recipe next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel Scoggins

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bowman, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lisalou
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2009
I am 42 and this is the first apple pie I have ever made. And the second completely homemade pie, crust and all. I followed some of the other suggestions to add flour to the sugar/cinnamon mixture and added some fresh squeezed lemon juice to the apples. Instead of regular cinnamon I used a blend of cinnamon and other spices I bought from Penzy's called Apple Pie. I baked for 10 min. at 450, and then 35 minutes at 370 and it came out just fine. My teenagers and husband said it tasted better than my mother-in-laws. I also used the Never Fail Pie crust II, the recipe is for 16 servings which is 2 double crusts. I adjusted for one pie, but put in for 10 servings. I'd rather have a little left over pie crust. I also did a lattice top on this pie - SO EASY, and it looks so pretty too. Much better than the traditional top. I love making pies now, I told my family I am making one a week for them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisalou

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2009
I became a member just so I could brag on this apple pie! I don't even care for apple pie; I'm not even a great cook, but this pie will make you look great..and it taste professional! Plus, its so easy! Carol, thank you so much for submitting this pie; I plan to make it for up coming holidays!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2009
I had never made a pie before so I was quite apprehensive about choosing from the hundreds of recipes on this site. However, my aunt once told me "choose the simplest". It was so easy, turned out great, and the taste was outstanding. I did add nutmeg just because I love the taste of it, also 1/2 c brown sugar and the rest white, and lastly 2 Tbsp of flour, although I suggest adding 3-4 because mine was almost on the too runny side. I did have problems with the top layer of apples being dry for the juices did not quite reach them. I am not quite sure what I did to cause that but, hey, it's my first pie. Honestly, it was one of the best pies I've ever tasted (if I do say so myself).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2009
FANTASTIC! I am always nervous to alter recipes, but everything I did made this pie the BEST apple pie I have ever eaten! This was my first attempt at fresh apple pie...I added 2 TBSP of flour, changed the sugar to 1/2 cup white sugar, 1/4 cup brown sugar, added a cap full of vanilla and sprinkled in nutmeg. I used granny smith apples, which gave this pie the best, slightly tart flavor!! I cooked it for 45 mins as well!! I WILL KEEP THIS RECIPE FOREVER!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2009
I don't like pie at all but I took a bite of this and I was in HEAVEN!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mellarkable Josh

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2009
Perfect recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2009
this was very exceptional- not the best I've tasted though
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by larkspur
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2009
My family loved this pie! I made my own crust, the Basic Flaky Pie Crust recipe from this site. It took me a little more than an hour to make, and my family ate the whole pie in about five minutes! It was so tasty that all the work was worth it! The only change I made was to add some extra sugar, because that is how my Grandma makes hers, and she makes the most awesome pies! Thanks so much for a wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by larkspur

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Wauwatosa, Wisconsin, USA

Displaying results 111-120 (of 376) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Apple Pie I

See how to make a simple, 5-star apple pie.

Apple Slab Pie

Apple pie baked in a rectangular pan with a crumble topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States