Apple Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2015
Worst pie I have made yet. Followed recipe to a tee, but it came out swimming in a sea of liquid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2015
Tried this recipe today used Granny Smith apples but change it per some of the reviews added 2 tbsp flour and mixed flour sugar and spices together before adding to apples. I also used frozen premade pie shells. Had a problem with top crust but that worked out ok. Turned out fine other than the issue with crust which was my fault. All and all this recipe with adjustments was pretty darn good. Tangy apples were better than the too sweet delicious and not as juicy which helped. I also used ½ cup brown sugar to ¼ cup white sugar and added nutmeg and lemon juice. Will try again next weekend and will use the pie crust in a box/frozen not in the pan/frozen. Thanks to every one who made suggestions. My husband was very pleased.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2014
Excellent ! Excellent! Made for Christmas dessert and it was a hit! I've tried many more complicated recipes that was far more work and far less delicious! Starting with good apples and a good pie crust (Sprouts store bought) with Trader Joes pie crust as a latticed top was the perfect combination. This is keeper and a recipe that I will always come back to. Adding some vanilla and also 1-2 table spoons of flour is also a good addition, to thicken the filling. Just yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Brea3
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
Great recipe especially for my first time making Apple pie. I read extensively through the reviews: I added 1/2 cup brown sugar, 2 TBL flour, 3/4 teaspoon ground cloves to mixture. I mixed it all in a gallon ziploc and tosses until evenly coated. I layered the mixture with several tablespoons of unsalted butter. I chose Braeburn apples, 6 did the trick and they were perfect (a bit tart but plenty sweet, perfectly balanced.) I also did a 1 egg white and 2 tablespoons milk mix to brush on top of final pie crust, sprinkled white sugar on top. I covered the edge of pie with foil for 40 minutes of bake time, and added turned the heat up to 375 for 20 more minutes at the end of bake time. Also let it sit for 10 additional minutes with the oven off. Lots of modifications but you guys it was DELICIOUS!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2014
The first time I made this it came out perfect! But it being my first try at apple pie, I was shocked by how much sugar it called for so on my second try I decided to reduce it by half (big mistake). Next time I will follow the recipe to the letter and know Ill get a good result
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lisa McGinnis
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
This was sooooo good! Nothing but great compliments from everyone who ate it! I made a bit more of the sauce - cuz it was so good! - and mixed a bit of brown sugar and cinnamon to the apples. 2 people said it was the best apple pie they've ever had!!!! Thank you for the recipe! ??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Eunice
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2014
Excellent recipe. Thanks for sharing a recipe even a novice cook can follow and render scrumptious outcomes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2014
Made this recipe using Pilsbury Gluten Free Pie & Pastry for the crust. I did not layer the apples, just mixed them all together with the ingredients. I left out the butter and I also added 2 TBLS lemon jiuce, 2 TBLS Gluten Free All Purpose Flour, 1/2 teas vanilla 1/4 teas nutmeg and used brown sugar instead of white, just to give it a bit more flavour. Next time, I will add 8-10 cups of apples instead of 6, as the pie ended up falling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ErinP

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Daniel
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2014
Delicious and fun to make!!! My first pie came out the best! I even made it like an expert! I love it??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2014
I was skeptical about trying this recipe at first, but I needed a quick dessert for the Fourth of July and I had a plethora of Granny Smith apples left. The recipe is a simple one, but I tweaked it a little bit. I added a couple of dashes of nutmeg, used 1/4 cup brown sugar and 1/2 cup white sugar. I also added two teaspoons of cornstarch to help thicken the juices a bit. I made the "Butter Flaky Crust" the day before. As for baking, I started it off at 450 degrees for ten minutes then reduced the temp to 350 and let it bake for about thirty-five minutes. It's important to make sure the juices are bubbly before removing from the oven. PS-Brush the crust with one egg mixed with a tablespoon of water to make it nice and brown. (Makes for great presentation)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LittleChef1230

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 376) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Apple Pie I

See how to make a simple, 5-star apple pie.

Apple Slab Pie

Apple pie baked in a rectangular pan with a crumble topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States