Apple Pie Filling Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2014
Excellent! I made enough for just one pie (serving cut to 8) Decreased sugar slightly as per other reviewers and it was perfect. Might even try with the full sugar next time as it was very far from too sweet
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2014
I know that this recipe is designed for use in apple pies, but it is so much more than that! I recently cooked for a community kitchen and I used this recipe as a topping for biscuits with some whipped cream. It was not too sweet, not too runny and was a HUGE hit! The only thing I did differently was to cook the apples for a little bit longer because they would not be put in a pie. Wonderful. I will definitely use this recipe in the future (maybe even for pie!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2014
Delicious!!! I absolutely love this apple pie filling! Thanks to others who mentioned filling a foil pie pan and freezing it... it was so easy to pop right in the pie crust and bake. I used this filling with French Pastry Pie Crust from Allrecipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by tmcp
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2014
I used about 24 cups of braeburn apples, and decreased the water to 7 cups and the cornstarch to 3/4 cup, also added the zest of a whole lemon in with the juice, and a drop of clove extract.Smelled amazing and tasted even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kimberly, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2014
Used approx 20 cups of apples, reduced water to 6 cups, cornstarch to 2/3 cup. Left everything else the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by gunnersmom
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2014
Turned out amazing! Better than the canned stuff u buy at the store with all the preservatives in it. Followed recipe just as written. Next time I'll need to use a bigger pot!! A little messy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2014
Thanks for the recipe! It is awesome! I will definitely do this again. We love apple anything so this is right up our alley. The best part is that we can have pie or a crisp any time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dana Lopez

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2014
Made this last night with half the water. With the brown sugar substitution for half the sugar. It would have made 4 pies, but the family stole some of it when it was cooling ^_^ (Tasted great over vanilla ice cream.) I used Ginger gold apples. And I will be adding this recipe to my life...worst thing was peeling 18 cups of apples. I had a bowl of lemon juice and water while cutting them all and just drained it before adding to the mix on the stove. Will be reducing the recipe to half size though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2014
Used this when our apples were ripe, I can't give it 5 stars until I make one of the pies, but worked well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2014
Very good apple pie filling. I halved the recipe, using nine cups of apples, and also halved the recommended amount of water, starting out with 2.5 cups water. The addition of 1/2 cup cornstarch made a thick syrup, so I added water a total of one additionaal cup water for the consistency we wanted. I subbed allspice for nutmeg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elle

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hays, Kansas, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 223) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Apple Pie Filling

Whip up a batch when you have a lot of apples and store the filling in the freeze

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Apple Pie I

See how to make a simple, 5-star apple pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States