Apple Pie Filling Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 28, 2015
It was delicious. I only used 5 cups of water, and it worked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2015
I was looking for an apple pie filling to put on top of mini cheesecakes. This filling was perfect! I made the recipe as stated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NurseCarol1974

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2015
This is absolutely amazing. I used Fuji apples. My immediate and extended family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2015
Great recipe. Followed other suggestions. Used half apple juice and half water.Cut water by half and it made the filling thick like I like. Cut the sugar by half (personal preference) and used half brown and half white. Used canned apple slices in water that I chopped as that is what I had on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2015
For my 1st attempt, I scaled the recipe down to 8 servings. It worked well however for my 2nd attempt, using the full recipe, I did cut back slightly on the sugar, cornstarch and water to suit my personal preferences. I had never seen a homemade apple pie filling recipe so thanks for this Terri, I didn't realize how easy it was! I froze mine in 20 oz portions to use in Allie's Awesome Easy Spice Cake - great cake but I don't like the additives and glucose-fructose in commercial fillings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2015
Used Sarah Jo's directions, made Apple Pie Filling in My Recipe Box. Stir together 2 T cornstarch, 1 t allspice, ½ t cinnamon, ½ C sugar. Bring to boil 2 C water, then stir spices in and boil 1 minute. Add 5 apples peeled and diced with french fry cutter, and simmer with lid ajar for 6 - 8 minutes. Great for For Dump Cake! Cool apples slightly then pour into baking dish that has been tempered for heat of apples. Press into apple layer a spice cake mix or yellow cake mix with favorite spices added. Top with 1½ C melted butter evenly drizzled, chopped pecans are optional. Baked perfectly in 30 minutes @ 350 since pie filling was hot. (I pressed cake mix into the filling before adding melted butter.) Serve with Ice cream or whipped cream. Very sweet even with homemade pie filling!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Helen Grace

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
I love it but i always ues a little real butter for taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GK Montag

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Orem, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2014
Need to know when you take the filling out of the freezer, do you thaw it out before putting into pie crust and then bake or bake the filling frozen? And, what temp and for how long. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2014
Thanks for this wonderful recipe.Smells and tastes awesome. I am so happy I tried this . Best ever. Nice way to buy Apple's on sale and be able to use in the winter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2014
Way to much water! I wanted to make a pie immediately and freeze the rest. I would cut back the water next time to 5 or 6 cups.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianne Augustine

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 233) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Pie Filling

Whip up a batch when you have a lot of apples and store the filling in the freeze

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Apple Pie I

See how to make a simple, 5-star apple pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States