Apple Pie Filling Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2014
This was an excellent recipe. I did follow the suggestions of other people who reviewed this recipe. I used 1/2 of the water, increased the cinnamon and added nutmeg. The pie filling came out perfect. It was the first time freezing any type of fruit filling. Next Fall, I will get a bushel of apples and make some pie filling to have for the whole year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lela

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2014
Made a small batch, (1/3 of recipe), doubled cinnamon and added dried cranberries plumped in triple sec. Absolutely wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AnneRoberts

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North York, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Erin, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
I followed the advice of others, and cut the water down to 6 cups and scaled back the cornstarch. It was amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
Great recipe I cut it down to 10 servings to make two apple pies. I add a bit more cinnamon, nutmeg, and I add a bit of all spice. Every time I make it, it comes out perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dottington

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Palm Springs, California, USA
Living In: Loma Linda, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2013
This recipe is awesome! Will be making batches of this every year fall to have on hand!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by duboo
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2013
I made this as written (except scaled back) and it turned out excellent. I wouldn't change a thing to do it again. I used local apples that are sweet/sour. 5 stars. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by duboo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Langdon, North Dakota, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2013
I've made something like this for years. The kettle I use only holds from 12 to 14 cups of apples, I also only use about 2 cups of water because my apples always are very juicy. I also cut the sugar to 1 1/2 cups and about 2 tbls of cornstarch, this really comes out nice and thick, when you cut your pie, it holds it's shape, doesn't run all over. I have Harlson apple trees, they make a great pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
I cut the water back also. I always put the filling in a pie plate & freeze it. When frozen, free it from the plate and slip it into a plastic bag. Store in the freezer until ready to bake. This way it is all ready to place in the prepared pie plate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
We love this recipe! Of course I read the other reviews and adjusted the water and maybe the sugar (after a while, recipes run together lol). I did make one addition, I added cranberries to 4 of the quarts I made. I just bought more cranberries so when I make this again, I will have them on hand to add to the whole batch! The pie with the cranberries lasted overnight before it was gone
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 208) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Pie Filling

Whip up a batch when you have a lot of apples and store the filling in the freeze

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Apple Pie I

See how to make a simple, 5-star apple pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States