Apple Pie Filling Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2015
Great recipe. Followed other suggestions. Used half apple juice and half water.Cut water by half and it made the filling thick like I like. Cut the sugar by half (personal preference) and used half brown and half white. Used canned apple slices in water that I chopped as that is what I had on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2015
For my 1st attempt, I scaled the recipe down to 8 servings. It worked well however for my 2nd attempt, using the full recipe, I did cut back slightly on the sugar, cornstarch and water to suit my personal preferences. I had never seen a homemade apple pie filling recipe so thanks for this Terri, I didn't realize how easy it was! I froze mine in 20 oz portions to use in Allie's Awesome Easy Spice Cake - great cake but I don't like the additives and glucose-fructose in commercial fillings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2015
Used Sarah Jo's directions, made Apple Pie Filling in My Recipe Box. Stir together 2 T cornstarch, 1 t allspice, ½ t cinnamon, ½ C sugar. Bring to boil 2 C water, then stir spices in and boil 1 minute. Add 5 apples peeled and diced with french fry cutter, and simmer with lid ajar for 6 - 8 minutes. Great for For Dump Cake! Cool apples slightly then pour into baking dish that has been tempered for heat of apples. Press into apple layer a spice cake mix or yellow cake mix with favorite spices added. Top with 1½ C melted butter evenly drizzled, chopped pecans are optional. Baked perfectly in 30 minutes @ 350 since pie filling was hot. (I pressed cake mix into the filling before adding melted butter.) Serve with Ice cream or whipped cream. Very sweet even with homemade pie filling!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Honey Dace

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
I love it but i always ues a little real butter for taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GK Montag

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Orem, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2014
Need to know when you take the filling out of the freezer, do you thaw it out before putting into pie crust and then bake or bake the filling frozen? And, what temp and for how long. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2014
Thanks for this wonderful recipe.Smells and tastes awesome. I am so happy I tried this . Best ever. Nice way to buy Apple's on sale and be able to use in the winter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2014
Way to much water! I wanted to make a pie immediately and freeze the rest. I would cut back the water next time to 5 or 6 cups.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianne Augustine

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2014
Excellent! I made enough for just one pie (serving cut to 8) Decreased sugar slightly as per other reviewers and it was perfect. Might even try with the full sugar next time as it was very far from too sweet
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2014
I know that this recipe is designed for use in apple pies, but it is so much more than that! I recently cooked for a community kitchen and I used this recipe as a topping for biscuits with some whipped cream. It was not too sweet, not too runny and was a HUGE hit! The only thing I did differently was to cook the apples for a little bit longer because they would not be put in a pie. Wonderful. I will definitely use this recipe in the future (maybe even for pie!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2014
Delicious!!! I absolutely love this apple pie filling! Thanks to others who mentioned filling a foil pie pan and freezing it... it was so easy to pop right in the pie crust and bake. I used this filling with French Pastry Pie Crust from Allrecipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 230) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Pie Filling

Whip up a batch when you have a lot of apples and store the filling in the freeze

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Apple Pie I

See how to make a simple, 5-star apple pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States