Apple Pie Filling Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2014
Very good apple pie filling. I halved the recipe, using nine cups of apples, and also halved the recommended amount of water, starting out with 2.5 cups water. The addition of 1/2 cup cornstarch made a thick syrup, so I added water a total of one additionaal cup water for the consistency we wanted. I subbed allspice for nutmeg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elle

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hays, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2014
Easy to can!!!! Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Megan Marissen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2014
Perfect I love it, decreased the water to 5 cups so it wasn't running everywhere when I cut the pie. I was just wondering if you can replace the ground nutmeg with ginger or would that change the taste completely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2014
Used stevia in place of sugar and put in crepes! Was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2014
This is the best recipe for apple pie filling!!! I make lots of apple flips and everyone always comment that they are the best they ever had. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sheilabowen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sandi1234
Reviewed: May 10, 2014
Very good but I found it too runny. Next time I will cut back on the water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2014
This was an excellent recipe. I did follow the suggestions of other people who reviewed this recipe. I used 1/2 of the water, increased the cinnamon and added nutmeg. The pie filling came out perfect. It was the first time freezing any type of fruit filling. Next Fall, I will get a bushel of apples and make some pie filling to have for the whole year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lela

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2014
Made a small batch, (1/3 of recipe), doubled cinnamon and added dried cranberries plumped in triple sec. Absolutely wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AnneRoberts

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North York, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Erin, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
I followed the advice of others, and cut the water down to 6 cups and scaled back the cornstarch. It was amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
Great recipe I cut it down to 10 servings to make two apple pies. I add a bit more cinnamon, nutmeg, and I add a bit of all spice. Every time I make it, it comes out perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 214) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Apple Pie Filling

Whip up a batch when you have a lot of apples and store the filling in the freeze

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Apple Pie I

See how to make a simple, 5-star apple pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States