Apple Pie Filling Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Photo by Cheffster
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2011
I wanted a nice apple filling for an Apple Coffee Cake I'm going to make this week and this is fantastic. Cortlands were not available at the market so I used Macintosh. Hard to believe a slug like me can produce a filling like this. Thank you, Terri - we'll be thinking of you when we're all enjoying our coffee cake :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheffster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Plymouth, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2011
I have made many apple pies in my time, and this is by far the best. I ran out of cornstarch, so just added some tapioka to what cornstarch I had and the pies turned out perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2011
I used Splenda instead of sugar for my grandpa who is diabetic and it worked out great! the flavor was perfect the only thing is it came out a little runny (two much water) which I noticed other reviewers experienced so I don't think it was because of the Splenda so Ill use less water next time. This was surprisingly easy to make-the apple prep took the longest (which you have to do anyway) but the rest of the recipe was a breeze just a lot of stirring when you put the sugar corn starch cin, salt and nut meg together to boil. (if you don't mix consistently it clumps up so don't skip on mixing. I will make again thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Pasadena, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2011
DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2011
I used half the water and sugar, doubled the spices using half cinnamon and half pumpkin pie spice, added a splash of vanilla, used my immersion blender to mash up half of the apples, used the filling for apple pie pops.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by the4taals

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Owen Sound, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2011
Delicious! i loved it i made 1/4 of the recipie adn didnt freeze it i made 1 apple pie and it was mmm good! thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by anne365

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
Wonderful & if you want a little richer taste add about 1 cup of brown sugar & a dash of cloves!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2010
This filling is perfect. I wouldn't make any changes to it. I used granny smith apples and they ended up being just right, not too sweet and not too tart. Also, the filling may seem a bit runny, but, after you bake it in a pie and it cools and sits, it stays in the slices of pie. If you thicken it up anymore than the recipe calls for, I think you may end up with pie filling that is entirely too thick once you bake it into a pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jacque_O

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Aurora, Illinois, USA
Living In: Aberdeen, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2010
This was good. I cut the sugar by half. As another reviewer mentioned, the amount of sugar you use can depend on the sweetness of the apples and personal preference. It will be nice to have this in the freezer ready to use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2010
I followed the ingredients to a T but decided to put this in the crockpot over night.... what a wonderful recipe, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 212) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Pie Filling

Whip up a batch when you have a lot of apples and store the filling in the freeze

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Apple Pie I

See how to make a simple, 5-star apple pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States