Apple Pie Filling Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
Fantastic recipe! turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Airdrie, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
Great recipe, I just hope it tastes as good after being froze as it did making it fresh.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bamsmommy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Falling Waters, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Kearneysville, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2011
I used 25 apples and the same amount of liquid and found it to still have too much sauce. After draining a little off I had enough of the sauce to add pears for 2 more pies. But the flavor is excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2011
Super easy, we made four batches. I cut the sugar in half and used a quart of water for each batch. YUM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
Great recipe. I agree with previous reviews... there is too much water, but I encourage you to make it "as is". When I make a batch, I take out about 1-2 cups of the liquid and put it in a dressing bottle (the kind that you get for free when you make itallian dressing). It makes a great topping to icecream, pancakes, french toast... you name it! I put the rest in pies or the freezer. When I bake it, it holds together wonderfully and tastes phenomenol! I encourage you to try this recipe and tweak it to your needs :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
mmmmm......just sayin
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lake Forest, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2011
very nice.. everyone loves this pie filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2011
I'm an average cook in the kitchen and tried this reciepe. I did not have to alter anything at all. My pies came out delicious and perfect for our taste. I had absouletly no trouble with the reciepe. Thank you Terri for sharing such a wonderful and all american apple pie reciepe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2011
Very flavor-full!!! My daughter tried a spoonful and said it tastes just like the apple pie filling we use in our crepes! No more canned filling for me! I brought the water to boil and then added 2 c flour since I didn't have cornstarch or tapioca. I whisked out most of the lumps and then added 2 c white and 2 c brown sugar, 2 tsp cinnamon and 1 tsp all spice. You really need to watch this boiling because it will stick to the bottom. I added the apples after 2-3 min of the sauce boiling but I didn't leave the apples on the full 6-8 minutes since I wanted my apples a little more firm and the mixture was already really hot so it helped soften them just be mixing them up. I used golden delicious apples from my local orchard. Most of the "notes" are for me personally so I can remember what I did. It came out amazing - you really should try it. You won't be disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairbury, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
On my second year of making it. On the advice of other, cutting down the water is a must. Flavor excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 212) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Pie Filling

Whip up a batch when you have a lot of apples and store the filling in the freeze

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Apple Pie I

See how to make a simple, 5-star apple pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States