Apple Pie Filling Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2013
This was the first pie I had ever made and it was really, really good and easy to make! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2013
I never knew that I could make my own pie filling like you could buy in the store. I always just added my ingredients into a pie shell and baked it. I love the way this turned out. I did change the amount of apples to about 24 cups, added 3 tablespoons of corn starch, increased nutmeg to 1 teaspoon and added a teaspoon of cloves. It is absolutely delish! Thanks for the recipe. I'll be making this one again, and again. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2013
Used apples we got from my friend's apple tree (granny smith?) Made good pie filling but was way too much water, I think. I cut back to 7 c and it was still very saucy. 5 would be good, but adjust the cornstarch accordingly or it will be glue. I used 2 c. white sugar and 1 c. brown sugar. Heavenly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth Ann Raymond

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Union City, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2013
Made this exactly as instructed and froze. Still enjoying this months later! Everyone LOVES it. I make mine "French" with a brown sugar and butter topping instead of adding more crust on top. I'll be making more to freeze for this next year, as this was a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2013
I first tried this recipe when I rescued dozens of apples after a blow down (before the squirrels cold make off with them!). My pies got such raves reviews that now it's my Go To recipe for apple pie. I find that it only fills four pies, but I think that's because my home grown apples (of a forgotten variety) are on the small side :-).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Woodstock, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2013
I made a scaled down version of this recipe to use in ‘Allie’s Awesome Easy Spice Cake’ recipe as I didn’t have a can of apple pie filling on hand. A great suggestion from Linda (LMT) – thank you. After trying this recipe, I have no need to purchase apple pie filling anymore. This had great flavor and was very simple to make. It had more sauce than what I needed, so my guys reheated the sauce and poured it on their cake. I can’t wait to try this again and make an apple pie with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Photo by Linda (LMT)
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2013
Very good. Nice balance of spice without being overdone. I thought there was a little too much liquid to apples once it was cooked but that was easily fixed, I simply removed a few spoonfuls (I would rather have too much than not enough). I used this pie filling to make an Apple Spice cake that called for apple pie filling. Loved using my own instead of buying a can.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda (LMT)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Myers, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2013
i have used this reciepe as a base for making apple crumble, as i am on a budget i buy tinned apple used the sauce recipe with the tinned apple for the apple crumble filling. perfect every single time I make it. it is now a family favourite !! love it,love it!!!!! i down size the recipe of course to feed our family of five but still turns out perfect every single time , highly recommend this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carmen Gubb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Whitianga, Waikato, New Zealand

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
This was really easy to do and I scaled it back to make only what I needed. I prefer to add extra apples, as if it's too saucy it's a bit too sweet for me. Plus, I add ground cloves. Great recipe though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2012
For Thanksgiving I am thankful for this recipe b/c it was a hit. A+, Very very good. And if you have guests that are diabetic, or are lowering their calories, and sugar intake I replaced the sugar with Truvia baking blend (just follow packaging measure conversion), it was wonderful and with no aftertaste. And as for the water just put in enough water to cover your apples, and add more/or less depending on the type of apples used. and don't forget to change the serving size to edit your measurements for the ingredients (the above recipe calls for 5 pies)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 233) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Pie Filling

Whip up a batch when you have a lot of apples and store the filling in the freeze

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Apple Pie I

See how to make a simple, 5-star apple pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States