Apple Pie Filling II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2014
I got this recipe out of a very old canning cookbook. I love it and have used it for over 20 years canning for the winter. The canning portions for this one is 10 pounds apples, apricots or peaches, 1 cup plus 2 tablespoons quick cooking tapioca, 1 1/2 cups sugar, 3/4 cup lemon juice, 4 cups sugar, water. Place prepared fruit in a large pot with sugar and enough water to prevent sticking and scorching. Heat to 190 degrees just under boiling stirring freq. Add reserved tapioca mixture and stirring, reheat to 190. Do not boil. Pour into jars and process in boiling water bath for 15 min. Makes 6 Qts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2013
Just like Momma used to make. I refigured the recipe for a canner full. I used an apple peeler but cored and sliced with an apple slicer. I was so glad to finally find a recipe using Tapioca. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janet Stout

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Roundup, Montana, USA
Living In: Flemington, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2013
Filled my 10 qt. stockpot heaping-full with peeled apples (sprinkled them with Fruit Fresh between layers to keep from browning), then divided between two pots so I could stir as they heated. Added 5 c. sugar (divided - plenty for my sweet apples) and brought to a boil. Next put in 3/4 c. tapioca, 2 T. cinnamon and 3 T. lemon juice and dumped both pots together for the final boil. This made just over 7 quarts. Second batch: to the above proportions, put 1 1/2 c. water in each pot with the sugar/apple mixture, creating a beautiful sauce...for those of us who like a juicy pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandi King

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Vermillion, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2013
This made a wonderful apple pie filling. I got rave reviews when I took it to a church potluck.They had a competition for best dessert at harvest event. The pie with this filling took first place.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2013
This is the best apple pie filling I have ever had! We canned the apple pie filling (we did 7 quarts altogether) and then cooled them and opened one to make a pie. Top and bottom crust, cut slit in it for air to escape, and then baked at 400 degrees for 40 minutes. Best pie in the whole world!!!!!! Thanks for an AWESOME recipe!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2013
Really like this filling. My mother always used tapioca in her berry pies, but I had never heard of using it in apple pies before. I did add a bit of water only because my apples were not producing much liquid. Not sure what I did wrong but it turned out great. Will use this recipe over and over again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bekah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jennerstown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Nagoya, Aichi, Japan
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2012
Fantastic recipe. it is the best canned filling I have seen in a home canning recipe, and super simple. We canned 50 quarts for winter pies and took a fresh pie to our family dinner and everyone loved it. Thank you Karen!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Talwicca

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Langlois, Oregon, USA
Living In: Coquille, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2012
This is an excellent recipe. It made the best apple pie which my husband loved. I would highly recommend using this one over and over again. I used a few more apples and didn't cut them too thin since I was cooking them a little longer. We like our apples a little chunky! Delicious!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bloomington, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Baking Nana
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2012
For a well reviewed recipe that has been on the site for 10 years, I was surprised that this needed a picture. I am pleased to say, this is a keeper. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baking Nana

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Corona, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
I made this to use for apple pie pizza. I didn't have lemon juice. I used cinnamon, nutmeg and ginger. I also used splenda instead of sugar, so that might have been why there was no juice to it. So I added a little water. I had to cook it longer to thicken it. It was still really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Apple Pie Filling

Whip up a batch when you have a lot of apples and store the filling in the freeze

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Apple Slab Pie

Apple pie baked in a rectangular pan with a crumble topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States