Apple Pie Coffee Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2011
served this at the in laws for christmas - there was nothing left of it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kellymc125

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2011
This is my teenage kids favorite cake. They request this on weekends. I think it is because it is so nice and moist. I did use a can of apple pie filling and made it in a round bundt pan. This one is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2010
Really good! After reading other reviews I did add about 1/2 cup finely chopped walnuts to the batter and I was out of almond extract so just used vanilla. Also added a couple of drops of vanilla to the glaze. Will certainly make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2010
I would give this 3.5 stars. This was not bad for what it is, which is semi-homemade. I normally bake only from scratch, but on this occasion needed to bake several items in one day for a fundraiser, so I chose a few 'shortcut' recipes. I was not at all disappointed in this one. Decrease the baking temperature to 325 and bake longer, to be sure the cake around the filling bakes up without being wet. This does have a somewhat box cake taste but then, it mostly is! I think you would notice that more if you were used to baking all from scratch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TheBritishBaker
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2010
So disappointed with this cake, I won't be making this again. I followed the recipe exactly, only difference was that I used walnut oil in place of the Canola. I cooked for 45 minutes and my tester came out of the cake clean. Had no problems removing this from the pan and let it cool. Once completely cooked I stored over night in an air tight container. This morning I came to wrap it, as I wanted this for a hostess gift. It was so sticky underneath and difficult to remove from the bundt storer. I did remove it and wrapped in clear wrap and gave to my friend as a hostess gift. I was given a slice of cake to eat at her home and the spice part of the cake tasted just like it came of of the box, and the apple area was just so sloppy and it was like the cake mix underneath had not cooked (It had as the cake tester came out clean) it was just so bland and not nice at all. I felt so awful, as it way me who took this as a Hostess gift!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheBritishBaker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bakewell, Derbyshire, England, U.K.
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2010
Made this for sunday dessert and really liked it. I think I will try with choclate cake and cherry pie filling next time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ridley Park, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2010
very moist! made with yellow cake mix and apple pie filling- turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dena

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Harrisonburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
Easy to make but very sweet. I made apple butter icing to top it off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2009
Excellent cake! I made this for Thanksgiving and got rave reviews! It is moist and delicious and very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2009
Had everything on hand to make this cake & tried it for a dining group. It was a big hit! Leftover cake was even more moist the following day. The apple pie filling I used was a "special edition" Caramel Apple Pie I had found at my favorite discount grocery store. The slices were pretty big so I chopped those for the filling. Immediately after glazing the cake I sprinkled chopped pecans on and thought that was a nice addition. Great recipe for a fall dinner dessert! Thanks, so much, for sharing it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Monclova, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lacey, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States