Apple Pie Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2005
The recipe name leads you to expect a very sweet bread, which this is not...but that's OK! It's still great. Possible reasons for failure in other cooks' attempts at this bread could include the previously mentioned abundance of sugar in the recipe(pie filling, apple juice, additional white sugar), as well as the cinnamon. Cinnamon (like garlic) is a natural enemy of yeast! I've found the best way to work around this is to add the cinnamon later in the cycle - my machine has a beeper that tells you when to add ingredients such as raisins or nuts toward the end of the knead cycle, and that's when I sprinkle in the cinnamon. As for the sugar, I didn't have a problem but perhaps you could try reduced sugar pie filling?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2002
I'm sorry about all the people who had bad luck with this recipe. I thought it was wonderful! My Mom said it was like the "old-fashioned" bread her mother made. The texture was fine, the flavor was great, and it was gone in no time. I did have to add about a TBL more of bread flour, but that's the only problem I had. I have another batch making as I write this, and I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2002
I love this recipe! I use my home-canned apple pie filling, so it's not too sweet, and I use the dough cycle on my bread machine. Take the dough out, punch it down and roll out cinnamon rolls. Let rise until double then bake and top with powdered sugar frosting...YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2002
Very moist. It smells as good as it tastes. It makes excellent toast too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2000
***Original Review 8/30/2000 *** I don't have a bread machine, but decided to try the recipe anyway. Everything turned out as expected, the smell _was_ really wonderful. I don't think I let the bread rise quite long enough before baking -- the top split -- but I was pleased with the results. It was a little on the heavy side, but not rock-like. It would make a good breakfast/dessert bread. *** Update 1/18/05*** I finally broke down and got a bread machine. I ended up having to adjust the flour on this a bit to get a good consistency dough. Once it was at that nice "tacky" stage, it came out beautifully. Flavor was kind of subtle, not a hit you over the head "apple pie", but even my picky DS likes it! Loaf came out an even pale tan color since the machine churned the apples up completely. The recipe name is a little misleading, but the bread is tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2002
Tripled checked my measurements and ingredients but it never came together to form a dough. I was looking forward to it and was very disappointed that I wasted my money and time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2001
I think the problems others have had is probably due to using apple pie filling with way too much sugar. I used my own apple puree (made ages aog and stored in the freezer) which has just a little sugar added. This seems to be just the right amount. Scrummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2000
I tried this recipe twice because I couldn't get the ingredients to mix up right in my breadmaker. The first time produced a bread that didn't seem cooked in the middle. I was playing with the ingredients and had to add more bread flour. This was my fault. The second time produced a much better bread with less problems, but I thought I would taste a more apple-tasting bread and didn't. I still liked the way it turned out but was a bit disappointed. I will try it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2001
This bread was very bland and didn't taste at all like apples or apple pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2002
This bread tasted AWESOME, but the dough was awfully sticky, I ended up adding a ton more flour, and it still ended up flat. Ugly but good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Pie Muffins

Watch how to bake a batch of apple muffins for breakfast or dessert.

Dutch Apple Pie

Watch how to make a crumbly topped apple pie.

Apple Slab Pie

Apple pie baked in a rectangular pan with a crumble topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States