Apple Pie Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2000
I tried this bread because I love the smell of apples, and I am glad I did. The smell was fantastic while cooking and tasted even better, it has a soft fluffy texture to it. This is now one of my favorites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2000
Suggest mixing the powdered buttermilk and flour before putting into bread machine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2000
***Original Review 8/30/2000 *** I don't have a bread machine, but decided to try the recipe anyway. Everything turned out as expected, the smell _was_ really wonderful. I don't think I let the bread rise quite long enough before baking -- the top split -- but I was pleased with the results. It was a little on the heavy side, but not rock-like. It would make a good breakfast/dessert bread. *** Update 1/18/05*** I finally broke down and got a bread machine. I ended up having to adjust the flour on this a bit to get a good consistency dough. Once it was at that nice "tacky" stage, it came out beautifully. Flavor was kind of subtle, not a hit you over the head "apple pie", but even my picky DS likes it! Loaf came out an even pale tan color since the machine churned the apples up completely. The recipe name is a little misleading, but the bread is tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2000
Great moist bread. A simple glaze makes it really special.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2000
This is ones the kids tried making in our bread machine and will surely make many more times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2000
There is no way in the world that this recipe could work for anyone. Rather than long explanations: Let me just say that recipes which have alot of sugar (the sugar content in apple pie filling is HIGH!) require a different set of baking rules. The ratio on this recipe could not begin to work. A good explanation can be found on Kingarthurflour.com. Highly invaluable information for all will to read.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2000
I really enjoy this recipe. I make it and bring it into work and everyone there loves it. I make the bread very often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2000
I'm glad I wasn't the only one! The bread came out hard and heavy, and didn't seem to be done completely (top was pale, not browned). The taste wasn't that bad, but the texture was so unpleasant that I had to throw it out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2000
All very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Stockton, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2000
The house DID smell good while it was baking, but I had the same results - a door stop. Mine wasn't cooked in the middle either. The flavor was good, but was inedible due to the texture. I think there was too much sugar. Sugar in the liquid (apple juice), the pie filling and 5 more TBS in the recipe. I liked it enough to try to fix it, but only those who LIKE to figure out how to fix broken recipes should try this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scituate, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Classic Apple Pie

See how to make a simple apple pie with a flaky, golden-brown crust.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Apple Pie I

See how to make a simple, 5-star apple pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States