Apple Pie Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2002
I'm sorry about all the people who had bad luck with this recipe. I thought it was wonderful! My Mom said it was like the "old-fashioned" bread her mother made. The texture was fine, the flavor was great, and it was gone in no time. I did have to add about a TBL more of bread flour, but that's the only problem I had. I have another batch making as I write this, and I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2002
I love this recipe! I use my home-canned apple pie filling, so it's not too sweet, and I use the dough cycle on my bread machine. Take the dough out, punch it down and roll out cinnamon rolls. Let rise until double then bake and top with powdered sugar frosting...YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2002
This was very easy to put together but it tasted horrible. The middle was not cooked and had the consistency of glue. It was very heavy and not sweet at all. I would not recommend this recipe to anyone!!! It was awful!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2002
I have to agree the others that say this recipe is a waste of time and ingredients. It came out not done in the middle and mushy. I added bread flour until it made the ball but the recipe still did not turn out correctly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2001
This bread was very bland and didn't taste at all like apples or apple pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2001
I think the problems others have had is probably due to using apple pie filling with way too much sugar. I used my own apple puree (made ages aog and stored in the freezer) which has just a little sugar added. This seems to be just the right amount. Scrummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2000
I tried this recipe twice because I couldn't get the ingredients to mix up right in my breadmaker. The first time produced a bread that didn't seem cooked in the middle. I was playing with the ingredients and had to add more bread flour. This was my fault. The second time produced a much better bread with less problems, but I thought I would taste a more apple-tasting bread and didn't. I still liked the way it turned out but was a bit disappointed. I will try it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2000
Absolutely yummy!!!!!!! And to awaken to the smell?!? Heaven!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2000
I overall liked the recipe but found that it needed more flour than it had called for. In the end it did turn out but I had to keep adding lots of flour for the dough to form its ball.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2000
This recipe failed to rise and was uncooked in the middle. It was completely inedible, although I followed the directions. I would not recommend this as it's a waste of ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Apple Slab Pie

Apple pie baked in a rectangular pan with a crumble topping.

Easy Classic Apple Pie

See how to make a simple apple pie with a flaky, golden-brown crust.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States