Apple Pie Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2008
I REALLY wanted this to be yummy and was really looking forward to it since is smelled amazing, but when I took it out of my bread machine it had fallen in the center and had this dried glue-like crust on top, the bottom portion was dense and sort of soggy. I even thought I would try some of the bottom part (couldn't even break off the top "crust") . I didn't eat any. I have experimented with breads and done some research on trouble shooting problems and all I can guess is that it has too much moisture (hence the soggy parts) and too much sugar I have read can kill yeast (hence the imploded, brick hard top).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MamaMia72

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukie, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2008
I put in a bit too much yeast but it worked wonderfully. I used the Pampered Chef Sweet Cinnamon Sprinkle instead of straight cinnamon though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2007
This was lousy bread, it didn't even back well. I went back to proof my yeast to make sure it was viable, because this loaf just didn't mix right
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2007
my husband and I very much enjoyed this bread, so moist loved it....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2007
I was quite disappointed in this recipe. It is very bland tasting. On the plus side, it does have a nice texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2007
This is a tasty bread with a more dense texture. I was a bit disappointed that you really don't get any apple chunks in the bread and wonder if you could add the filling at a later time in the cycle? The only changes I made was to subsitute a 1/4 of the pie filling with spiced apple butter. Very tasty and great smelling bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2005
The recipe name leads you to expect a very sweet bread, which this is not...but that's OK! It's still great. Possible reasons for failure in other cooks' attempts at this bread could include the previously mentioned abundance of sugar in the recipe(pie filling, apple juice, additional white sugar), as well as the cinnamon. Cinnamon (like garlic) is a natural enemy of yeast! I've found the best way to work around this is to add the cinnamon later in the cycle - my machine has a beeper that tells you when to add ingredients such as raisins or nuts toward the end of the knead cycle, and that's when I sprinkle in the cinnamon. As for the sugar, I didn't have a problem but perhaps you could try reduced sugar pie filling?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2005
Oh, my gosh! This was my first loaf of bread to bake in my bread machine. The bread was not sweet...AT ALL! The loaf was a little chewy. My husband and I thought the recipe submitter left out an ingredient or two. I followed the directions exactly. It looked good until we tasted it. I will not ever try to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2005
I was expecting something completely different. It was very thick and didn't have very much flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2005
The flavor of this recipe was very weak. Also, had to add more flour by about 1/4 cup. This recipe makes about a 1 1/2 pound loaf in my machine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Osakis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Bloomington, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Dutch Apple Pie

Watch how to make a crumbly topped apple pie.

Apple Slab Pie

Apple pie baked in a rectangular pan with a crumble topping.

Easy Classic Apple Pie

See how to make a simple apple pie with a flaky, golden-brown crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States