Apple Pie Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2006
My entire family loved this recipe!..Very good!.The only thing i did different is i added 2 cups of milk verses 1 1/2 & i changed the amount of apples as well, i put 2 cups of apples verses 1 1/2. I will definetly make this again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2006
I must say this was a very easy recipe to put together, not much in the way of time consuming. But the results were not very satisfactory, the cloves were overpowering, even when I tried the recipe a second time with no cloves I found it to be a very bland tasting bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2006
I don't like this recipe at all. There's a lot of flour in it probably too much. The top is crusty and the sides are really tough. It's not even sweet enough. Waste of time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2005
I had the opposite problem to most people - too dry! Possibly because I divided it into four mini loaf pans. It just did not taste 'apple' enough for me, and the batter seemed to lack SOMETHING. But it was good enough to inspire me to make it a second time, with some tinkering. My best inspiration was to add cream cheese to it. I added half a cup and it really made it have a better texture and flavor. I also increased the apples to two cups - have since read that someone else doubled the apples, which would be 3 cups - I can see that because even just adding 1/2 cup more didn't make a huge difference. I like clove, so I left it as it was, but just about doubled the cinnamon. I really like the spices to "kick" - I double all the spices when I make pumpkin pie! Anyway, the 'second generation' of this recipe was much better and I will make it again with the cream cheese - and will add even more apples next time around. I took two mini loaves to my small office this a.m. and by 9:30 they were gone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CYNDI!

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2005
Yummy, i changed this into 24 muffins and put in almost double the amount of apples. I dunno how long i cooked them in my convection oven, but it was quite a while. I added more cinnamon and less cloves. Everyone liked them, tasted good with raspberry preserves. I added a bit less baking powder, only 3 tsp, but it still seemed to have an odd taste. I will make again.The inside was like apple pie when they were warm out the oven, nice and gooey from the fresh apples.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 2Yung2Cook

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2005
Turned out nicely, overall. As recommended by other reviewers, I skipped the cloves (didn't have them, in any case), but added nutmeg. I also doubled the amount of apples, and substituted 1 c. oats for 1 c.flour. Baked it in a bundt pan (made a big bundt) for 1hr to make sure it was done all the way through - though the top was still a bit darker than I like. Really did make the house smell great! Would make again, perhaps as muffins (do not have muffin tins right now - as a grad student, it's a wonder I've got anything around!!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2005
JUST THREW OUT THE FIRST LOAF. WILL TRY SOME CHANGES NEXT TIME. BAKE AT A LOWER TEMP FOR A LONGER TIME, USE LIGHT COLORED METAL PANS, DIVIDE INTO 2 SMALLER PANS, OR USE MUFFIN TIN. ALSO AGREE WITH OTHER REVIEWS ABOUT CLOVES BEING OVERPOWERING AND REDUCE BAKING POWDER.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2005
I made this recipe to use up red delicious apples. It made 4 mini loaves (1 1/3 c size pans) and one half size mini loaf. I cooked for 40 minutes and let cool in pan 15 minutes. I also used 1 cup whole wheat flour in place of 1 c white flour. They turned out really moist and tasty and they're low fat too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2005
This bread was the worst recipe i have tried from this site. It was not sweet at all and weigh about 2 pounds. It was not nice and fluffy like how i usually like my bread to be. It did smell nice. It needs more sugar or some kind of sweetener.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2005
This bread is good, but I made a few minor alterations. As suggested by other reviewers, I did not use cloves, used about 3/4 tsp of nutmeg (and about the same amount of cinnamon), I also did not use all 4 tsp of baking powder (I used about 3 tsp). Instead of cooking 1 big loaf, I divided the batter evenly and put it into two small loaf pans, this worked out great and only took the loaves about an hour to cook (at 350). I do however agree with other reviewers in that...this loaf is not really 'bread' like - it's more of a cake consistency for sure. I did eat it toasted for breafast this morning though, and it was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kelcampbell

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Smiths Falls, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Kemptville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Apple Pie Muffins

Watch how to bake a batch of apple muffins for breakfast or dessert.

Dutch Apple Pie

Watch how to make a crumbly topped apple pie.

Apple Slab Pie

Apple pie baked in a rectangular pan with a crumble topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States