Apple Pie Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2008
This is an excellent recipe that my mother has been making for years - my own recommendations: use ONLY Granny Smith apples, for low juice and perfect baking results; use only 4-5 apples, rather than the 8 suggested here, enough for a single, dense layer; and you don't have to use corn flakes for the base, you can use any flaked cereal, or even crisped rice cereal works great. I made this last night for some dinner guests, and they RAVED about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bret

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Centerville, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2007
Absolutely delicious! I used 4 Granny Smith and 4 Braeburn apples and increased the sugar in the filling to 1 cup. Baked in a cookie sheet cake pan (a little larger than a 9X13 cake pan). This is a wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2007
This looked and smelled wonderful. The crust was very very nice, both in flavor and texture, but the filling was dry. I used gala apples, sliced thin as directed. Perhaps thicker wedges would have held the moisture better. This was my only complaint. The flavor was nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chefsazy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Highlands Ranch, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2006
These are delicious! I am not sure what role the cornflakes play, I could not taste them and there was not a texture difference in the bottom crust... As for the sogginess-after-two-days issue, I reheated them for 15 minutes at 250 degrees, then upped the temp to 350 for another 10 minutes or so and the crust "freshened up". They were a hit with our Bible Study Small Group. I also liked the way the glaze hardened in the oven after the second heating, so I might add it 1/2way thru next time. (If serving it to a crowd) Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ventura, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2006
I really enjoyed making AND eating these. Very tasty. I used gala apples.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsHfromNJ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vernon, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Netcong, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2006
This was a great treat! My husband thought they tasted like the little individual Hostess apple pies. Seriously addicting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2005
i made this for my niece's baptism. everyone liked them. they are good, but i thought they were a bit time consuming.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2005
Wonderful recipe and so easy to make. The only trouble is I can't leave them alone. Next time I might try adding golden raisins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2005
I used four good sized granny smith apples = 8 cups. I mixed ingredients and apples together in a bowl to evenly coat them. Great recipe, unlike other reviews, mine held up well for a few days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GLOCK08

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2005
I made these for my husband who loves apples and they were a big hit. Great for dessert or with morning coffee. Note: The recipe should read 1 1/2 tablespoons (not teaspoons)milk for the glaze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALTAROSE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint-Bruno-De-Montarville, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Easy Classic Apple Pie

See how to make a simple apple pie with a flaky, golden-brown crust.

Apple Pie I

See how to make a simple, 5-star apple pie.

Apple Slab Pie

Apple pie baked in a rectangular pan with a crumble topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States