Apple Pie Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2007
Absolutely delicious! I used 4 Granny Smith and 4 Braeburn apples and increased the sugar in the filling to 1 cup. Baked in a cookie sheet cake pan (a little larger than a 9X13 cake pan). This is a wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2007
This looked and smelled wonderful. The crust was very very nice, both in flavor and texture, but the filling was dry. I used gala apples, sliced thin as directed. Perhaps thicker wedges would have held the moisture better. This was my only complaint. The flavor was nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chefsazy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Highlands Ranch, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2006
These are delicious! I am not sure what role the cornflakes play, I could not taste them and there was not a texture difference in the bottom crust... As for the sogginess-after-two-days issue, I reheated them for 15 minutes at 250 degrees, then upped the temp to 350 for another 10 minutes or so and the crust "freshened up". They were a hit with our Bible Study Small Group. I also liked the way the glaze hardened in the oven after the second heating, so I might add it 1/2way thru next time. (If serving it to a crowd) Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ventura, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2006
I really enjoyed making AND eating these. Very tasty. I used gala apples.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsHfromNJ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vernon, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Netcong, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2006
This was a great treat! My husband thought they tasted like the little individual Hostess apple pies. Seriously addicting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2005
i made this for my niece's baptism. everyone liked them. they are good, but i thought they were a bit time consuming.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2005
Wonderful recipe and so easy to make. The only trouble is I can't leave them alone. Next time I might try adding golden raisins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2005
I used four good sized granny smith apples = 8 cups. I mixed ingredients and apples together in a bowl to evenly coat them. Great recipe, unlike other reviews, mine held up well for a few days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GLOCK08

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2005
I made these for my husband who loves apples and they were a big hit. Great for dessert or with morning coffee. Note: The recipe should read 1 1/2 tablespoons (not teaspoons)milk for the glaze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALTAROSE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint-Bruno-De-Montarville, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2005
Excellent stuff! I've always used green apples and frosted flakes, but otherwise the recipe goes unchanged. I do roll the dough out to fit a (sided) cookie sheet - makes more. A must on my christmas trays and happy indulgence any other time of the year. The only complaint (and it's not much of one considering they're gone within two days) but they don't have a good shelf life...only two days without becoming soggy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DAVIST

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Classic Apple Pie

See how to make a simple apple pie with a flaky, golden-brown crust.

Apple Pie I

See how to make a simple, 5-star apple pie.

Apple Pie Spirals

These tasty apple morsels are an elegant alternative to traditional pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States