Apple Pie Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2015
My mom was famous at potlucks for her delicious Apple Pie Bars. These are almost as good as hers. I didn’t have her recipe in hand, so used this one. I have since found her recipe and there are just a couple small differences, so next time I’ll try hers and see if I can achieve her apple bar goodness. To the reviewers wondering about the cornflakes, that’s to absorb apple juice and give body to the syrup that develops, like a thickener. To the reviewers who said the name “bars” is misleading and it’s too messy for a finger food and that it’s not travel friendly, that is because the apple layer is too much. My apple layer was also too thick. I didn’t measure, just cut of 4 large and 1 small granny smith, so I don’t know how many cups I had. Try reducing the amount of apples to make it a handheld bar. My mom’s bars were definitely finger food and transportable. She would cut them into squares and stack them in a Tupperware container. No wax paper liner needed between layers. They were not messy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2014
Love this recipe. Super easy. And turn out every time. It is exactly like my mom made growing up. It is the taste of autumn to me. My daughter and I make a pan each weekend until our apples are used up. I do not use the cornflakes and it seems to turn out just fine without. Not sure of their purpose. I also bake the bottom crust for about 5 min before layering the apples on top. Seems to make it slightly crisper/firmer and seems like it prevents it from getting soggy a little longer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2013
Amazing! Perfect ratio of apples to crust!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2013
Outstanding! Like other's comments, I didn't understand the purpose behind using the corn flakes....but I did chose to try Raisin Bran instead. The touch of raisins were like a surprise inside. I also chopped my apples into cubes and left the peeling for greater nutritional value. The crust was wonderful as well. I will probably cut back on the sugar next time, as it was a bit too sweet. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tenderbelle61

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sylacauga, Alabama, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
Everyone I have served these to, loves them and asks for the recipe. I make them often since I tried this recipe. thanks for sharing this, Cheryl C.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2011
I made exactly as recipe indicated using a variety of apples. These do take some prep time but the flavor is so worth it. The hardest part was rolling out the dough so I'd add flour to the counter as needed and lift the dough to sprinkle flour underneath & continue to roll out. It takes a little work but take the time needed and it will be much easier. Very yummy. These bars are great for bake sales. Once cooled they hold together well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by blessedbylove

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2011
This is soooooooooooo good and easily made with common household ingredients. I would have given it 5 stars except it is a bit too sweet. Next time I will cut down on the sugar from one cup to a half cup because the drizzle on top is just too good to skip! My husband loves sweet things, so this suits him just fine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2011
These were so easy and delicious! I loved the glaze on top. Served warm. Will definitely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
Very good. This is a bit time consuming, but it's all about the steps. I didn't roll the crust, just patted it out both times--worked better to pat out in the pan the first time, but I still didnt' want to roll the top layer due to the stickiness of the dough, so I made it work. I halved the recipe so as to put it in an 8x8 pan and used 2 apples. I really didn't bother measuring the apples, so I'm not sure how many cups that is. I used Granny Smith and they worked wonderfully well. I left off the final topping and I don't think they need it. Very good, very similar to an apple pie but a tad easier and a bit less calories (well, if you can keep yourself to a serving each time!) Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
This was a very tasty recipe. However the name "bars" is misleading because it suggests a finger food. It is really an apple pie in a 9X13 dish. It is cut into bars which hold together nicely when cool, but it is really too messy for a finger food. I chopped 6 Granny Smith apples and it was plenty for the apple layer. I made only one change and that was cutting the sugar to 3/4 cup. I think next time I will leave the glaze off as it really didn't add much to the overall flavor. Maybe for a variation I will add some craisins to the apple filling the next time. But it got rave reviews from my friends, so overall it is a good recipe just as it is written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Teresa Brenner

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Pie I

See how to make a simple, 5-star apple pie.

Easy Classic Apple Pie

See how to make a simple apple pie with a flaky, golden-brown crust.

Dutch Apple Pie

Watch how to make a crumbly topped apple pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States