Apple Pie Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2011
This is a great alternative to apple pie when you are serving a large group or attending a potluck. The amount of crust is a little skimpy. I increase the serving count to 48 to get measurements for a little more crust, but I still roll it out thin. I use a 3" wide pastry roller and roll the bottom crust directly into a small cookie sheet - thin and even. I use the full amount of apples for the original recipe. Grannie Smiths are my fav, nice and tart. You can't have too many apples in an apple pie (bars or other). I do reduce the shortening just slightly to make the dough a little easier to handle. These are so yummy! Am bringing them to a brunch with friends tomorrow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2011
These turned out perfect and had rave reviews and a request for the recipe!! After reading the reviews I did make adjustments. Used only 4 apples. I think the aples found in stores are larger than from a tree in the yard. I did not use any egg or milk in crust just flour, butter and ice water 1/4-13 cup (a few tablespoons at a time) I like to roll dough out between wax paper which makes it a breeze. I completely sealed dough edges together. Delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by erikagee
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2010
These are so good especially if you put whipped cream or vanilla ice cream on top. They are good served hot or cold. The reason for the 4 stars is they didn't turn out very pretty and they were very very messy to make. The dough fell apart when I rolled it out and broke when I tried to put it in the dish and I didn't have enough dough for the size it calls for. The icing needed more milk then called for also because 1 cup of sugar and 1 tablespoon of milk make a paste. I also didn't need any were near 8 cups of apples I used 4 apples sliced and that was plenty. I really wanted to give these 3 stars because they were so messy to make and they just didn't turn out as expected, but they are so delicious I had to give them 4 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by erikagee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Monroe, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2009
I followed the recipe exactly, no substitutions or anything, and I had a lot of problems with this recipe. The dough was very sticky, so when I rolled it out it ended up in pieces. Then, it seemed like I had way too much filling made, like I should have only done half as many apples, because it was overflowing when I tried to put the second piece of dough on top. It baked up okay, but it just seemed like and apple pie to me! I thought it was going to be more like a bar, but it was a flaky crust on top and bottom, with apple pie filling in the middle. And to be honest, this was not even a good apple pie taste. This was a big disappointment for me, and I will not be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Springfield, Virginia, USA
Living In: Flushing, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2009
I made these for work and most of it was gone within a half a day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley B.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2009
I made this but with Honey Bunches of Oats instead of rice cereal. I also used an 8x8 pan, rolled the dough out that size, and it baked up beautifully. I used red delicious apples and cut each one into 24 wedges (with the help of an apple corer/slicer). This was delicious and didn't last long. I wish I had some vanilla ice cream to put on top of this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hardrockgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yorba Linda, California, USA
Living In: Mechanicsville, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2008
Great bars! I did cut down on the liquid in the pastry as well. I used apples from my tree and brought these to a family reunion..had an empty pan 1/2 hour after we got there. A huge hit and a nice alternative to apple pie for a large group!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2007
very yummy -- tried it out in different molds and dusted them with icing sugar. I cut down (same as recipe minus 1 big tablespoon) on the shortening used because the dough became too buttery and only used half of the egg/milk mixture becasue the dough looked as if it were to turn too sticky. I used almond essence for flavoring and added some cinnamon to the dough. Overall, a nice treat! Not difficult to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aminarose

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States