Apple Pecan Cornbread Dressing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2007
I have never been able to make wonderful, moist dressing until now. This was excellent. Nearly the entire dish of dressing was eaten and people kept raving about the flavor. During the mixing, before adding the eggs, I tasted to see if the apple juice made it too sweet, and ended up adding in some chicken broth, also, but other than that, the recipe was made as stated. Wonderful texture and flavor, and the smell while it was cooking (three hours in the crock pot on high) was out of this world.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sneedville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Johnson City, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2007
Really tasty...Full of flavor! I did add some sage and thyme into my cornmuffin mix. I also used walnuts instead of pecans, and toasted them for about 8 mins. I also cut down on the apple juice otherwise mine would have been soggy.I also cut down on the amount of butter, and still got a crispy top!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2007
This was the first time I have ever made stuffing and it was super easy. I added vegetable broth with the apple juice to make sure it wasn't dry and it turned out perfect. Even my meat lovers at the table had rave reviews. A GREAT vegetarian option for the holidays.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2007
This was very good and not too sweet like others had mentioned. There is a nice balance between the cornbread and regular stuffing mix. Other fruit I added were cranberries and dried apricots. I cooked mine for almost an hour which made it a little dry...I won't overcook it next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2007
This is the absolute most wonderful stuffing I have ever consumed! I stumbled upon it a few years ago when looking for a vegetarian stuffing and ever since I insist on bringing the stuffing to every Thanksgiving dinner I attend (and I can eat meat now)! People love it! Even my must-eat-meat-or-it's-no-good family! I don't even tell them it's vegetarian! Even though we all eat meat, I still make this stuffing because it is THAT good. If you are looking for vegetarian make sure you read the box on the stuffing you add to see it doesn't have dried chicken broth in it. Or substitute similar herbs or veggie bouillon (must include sage!) and stale bread cut into tiny cubes. But if you are a meat eater, trust me... this recipe is worth trying!!! You'll be convinced.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2007
Ah...Comfort food. This made my stove top hating friend's jaw hit the floor when I told her that there was stove top in there! To free up the oven while I cooked the turkey and put the stuffing in the crockpot on high a few hours ahead of time. I stirred once every hour. To offset the sweetness that previous reviewers complained of, I only added one cup of apple juice and one cup of chickeb broth which gave it a slightly sweet flavor which really complemented the apples. Did I mention that this was the first time I ever made homemade stuffing and it was REALLY easy?!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
76 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ilovemykids

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grandville, Michigan, USA
Living In: Sioux Center, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2007
This really didn't come out well for me. It was super dry for some reason. Maybe I need to add more juice to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MILKLISSA79

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2006
I made this for Christmas dinner and it was very tasty. It was a little crumbly, so I might add an egg or some apple juice. If you are serving gravy (I did not) then the consistency is fine. Also, I didn't notice much of an apple or sweet taste. It was a simple recipes to prepare. I would make this again when there are vegetarians for dinner, but I still prefer a cornbread dressing with sausage !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2006
I was not terribly inpressed with this stuffing, however, the rest of the family enjoyed it. I replaced the juice with broth as suggested by other reviewers. I thought it was too dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Willis, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2006
This was fantastic! I doubled this to take for a work function, and everyone there was begging for the recipe! I may change our traditional family stuffing and make this our new tradition!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 150) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Corn & Porcini Mushroom Cornbread Dressing

See the accidentally best cornbread dressing ever.

Southern Cornbread Dressing

This rich Southern dressing includes chicken and eggs.

Pecan Apricot Stuffing

See how to make this delicious all-purpose stuffing or dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States