Apple Pecan Cornbread Dressing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2007
Ah...Comfort food. This made my stove top hating friend's jaw hit the floor when I told her that there was stove top in there! To free up the oven while I cooked the turkey and put the stuffing in the crockpot on high a few hours ahead of time. I stirred once every hour. To offset the sweetness that previous reviewers complained of, I only added one cup of apple juice and one cup of chickeb broth which gave it a slightly sweet flavor which really complemented the apples. Did I mention that this was the first time I ever made homemade stuffing and it was REALLY easy?!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ilovemykids

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grandville, Michigan, USA
Living In: Sioux Center, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2000
This was really good. I stuffed chicken with it. I cut the liquid a little, it would have been too runny otherwise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Vallejo, California, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2001
Delicious stuffing - made a big hit! I used store-made cornbread (14 0z.) and less butter (1 stick). I baked it till top was crispy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2007
This is the absolute most wonderful stuffing I have ever consumed! I stumbled upon it a few years ago when looking for a vegetarian stuffing and ever since I insist on bringing the stuffing to every Thanksgiving dinner I attend (and I can eat meat now)! People love it! Even my must-eat-meat-or-it's-no-good family! I don't even tell them it's vegetarian! Even though we all eat meat, I still make this stuffing because it is THAT good. If you are looking for vegetarian make sure you read the box on the stuffing you add to see it doesn't have dried chicken broth in it. Or substitute similar herbs or veggie bouillon (must include sage!) and stale bread cut into tiny cubes. But if you are a meat eater, trust me... this recipe is worth trying!!! You'll be convinced.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2006
The entire table agreed this was the best dressing we'd ever had! For the first time in my life, there was no leftover dressing at the end of the day. I substituted 1 cup raisins for the celery (I had two celery haters at the table -- the raisins tasted great with the apples, I definitely recommend this even if you're using celery too) and used only 1 1/2 cups apple juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2002
This stuffing was great!!!! I don't usually like stuffing, but the cornbread and apples (we used Fujis) were a perfect combination. All 13 people at Thanksgiving dinner agreed! Thanks for the great recipe:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2002
I was very proud of myself when my husband (the stuffing connoisseur) gave this recipe his highest praises. It's moist and savory, and every other bite or so you'll get a wonderful sweet apple surprise. Very interesting in taste and texture - this one will show up on my table for many Thanksgivings to come.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2000
I am pregnant and have an aversion to sausage, so this recipe was great for me in terms of preparation. I used Granny Smith apples which were a little tart. Next time I will use a Cortland or a milder flavored apple, but all of my holiday guests enjoyed the dressing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2000
My husband and I had our entire family over for “our first” thanksgiving dinner. This recipe was great, however I added mushrooms to it. I received so many complements! Everyone loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2000
We didn't have any apple juice, so added broth, but it was still outstanding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 146) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Corn & Porcini Mushroom Cornbread Dressing

See the accidentally best cornbread dressing ever.

Southern Cornbread Dressing

This rich Southern dressing includes chicken and eggs.

Pecan Apricot Stuffing

See how to make this delicious all-purpose stuffing or dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States