Apple Pecan Cornbread Dressing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
Everyone loved this at my family's Thanksgiving lunch yesterday! Wouldn't change a thing on this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
I love this recipe. It always turns out great. I would add some more butter as it tends to dry out but otherwise it's good just as it is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
Made this for Thanksgiving, My fa,ily and friends all said it was a keeper for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
We've been making this for years! My mom got this from the Houston Chronicle. Here are a few differences in our recipe [my notes are in braces]: 3 tablespoons chopped fresh parsley 1/2 teaspoon cinnamon, ginger OR poultry seasoning [I like poultry seasoning best] 1 cup *sliced* celery 1/2 pound bulk sausage, sauteed (optional) 2 cups chopped apples (about three) 2 cups apple juice OR half apple juice, half turkey stock The prep steps are the same. If you use the sausage, omit the butter. Saute the sausage, then add the vegetables. The dressing can be stuffed lightly into body and neck cavities of turkey. Makes enough for an 18-pound turkey. My hints and preferences are... I make my cornbread into muffins. They bake more quickly. I make them the day before. Day-old is good! My cornbread recipe does not call for much sugar (1/4 cup to 1 cup flour and 1 cup cornmeal). You want a savory cornbread, not sweet. I have not used the sausage in years, but this recipe is good either way. I have cut the butter down and substituted oil for part of it. 3/4 cup butter is 12 tablespoons! I think 6 tablespoons butter and 4 of vegetable oil work well. I up the poultry seasoning to 1 teaspoon. I have left the eggs out or reduced them, but I prefer it with the eggs. If you leave them out, make sure you have enough liquid so it won't be dry. I usually use half apple juice, half turkey stock (or chicken stock). I have increased pecans to one cup. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2010
This was a great recipe but a little on the sweet side for my taste. I cut the juice in half and subbed chicken broth. I loved the pecans and the apple. I might try a spicy sausage to make it a little more savory. Overall an excellent recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Costa Mesa, California, USA
Living In: Redlands, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2010
This is so delicious! I made this at Thanksgiving last year and my family insisted I bring it again at Christmas and at Thanksgiving this year again! I followed the suggestion of a review below and reduced the apple juice to one cup and added one cup of chicken broth so it wasn't quite so sweet. Delicious! And easy too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2010
This was very good, I just made it for thanksgiving and I wanted to just sit and eat nothing but stuffing! Instead of using a package of stuffing I used 4 cups of seasoned small crutons and it worked out great. I added a cup of chopped bell peppers and instead of 2 cups of apple juice I used 1 cup of apple juice and one cup of chicken stock. I also didn't add the eggs (I forgot to actually) but it still tasted amazing and the eggs weren't missed at all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Niroszyckame

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Slave Lake, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2010
I loved this recipe. No changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2010
This is SO delicious and easy to make! I think it's perfect as is, needs no modifications. I've made this for holiday gatherings for the past 3 years, and every year I have to double what I make because everybody raids the leftovers. They love it. I'm getting ready to make it again right now at a friend's request. Definitely a keeper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2010
This is my new favorite stuffing for Thanksgiving. I really liked this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Eagle Mountain, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 146) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Corn & Porcini Mushroom Cornbread Dressing

See the accidentally best cornbread dressing ever.

Southern Cornbread Dressing

This rich Southern dressing includes chicken and eggs.

Pecan Apricot Stuffing

See how to make this delicious all-purpose stuffing or dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States