Apple Pecan Cornbread Dressing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2007
I made this stuffing per the recipe. It was hands down the best stuffing I have ever eaten. My husband said it was the best he has ever had as well. He asked me where I kept the Stove Top......I looked at him confused and he said he's throwing it all away....he wants this dressing/stuffing from now on. Addition to earlier review re: sweetness.......I have made this recipe 3 times now. The first time the flavor was perfect. The second time the dressing was too sweet...much sweeter than the first time and I didn't care for it (stunk too because I had guests that time). The third time (made it yesterday for Father's Day) the flavor was perfect again. The first and third time I used the apple juice you buy in the container....the second time I forgot to buy it and used the kid's apple juice drink boxes....so......if you use juice drink boxes the stuffing may be too sweet....didn't think it would make a difference...but there you have it. Also, I use Gala apples and it's YUMMY!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2007
I made this dressing for Thanksgiving & it was a big hit! Very nice flavor. I saved time by making the cornbread a couple days ahead & cutting up onion & celery the day before. It was a breeze to finish up on Thanksgiving morning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Amsterdam, New York, USA
Living In: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2007
I made this dressing for Thanksgiving and was disappointed at how dry it was. I do not feel that the apple or pecan flavors were very developed. Perhaps a smaller batch of cornbread (not the 9x9 pan) would be better. I'm not sure though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenn Jones

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2007
I made this for thanksgiving, my husband hasn't stopped raving about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2007
Made for Thanksgiving dinner. Great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Misty Atkinson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2007
great recipe--everyone loved it at my thanksgiving meal! i think i would prefer it with more pecans, but the recipe was fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2007
I have never been able to make wonderful, moist dressing until now. This was excellent. Nearly the entire dish of dressing was eaten and people kept raving about the flavor. During the mixing, before adding the eggs, I tasted to see if the apple juice made it too sweet, and ended up adding in some chicken broth, also, but other than that, the recipe was made as stated. Wonderful texture and flavor, and the smell while it was cooking (three hours in the crock pot on high) was out of this world.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sneedville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Johnson City, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2007
Really tasty...Full of flavor! I did add some sage and thyme into my cornmuffin mix. I also used walnuts instead of pecans, and toasted them for about 8 mins. I also cut down on the apple juice otherwise mine would have been soggy.I also cut down on the amount of butter, and still got a crispy top!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2007
This was the first time I have ever made stuffing and it was super easy. I added vegetable broth with the apple juice to make sure it wasn't dry and it turned out perfect. Even my meat lovers at the table had rave reviews. A GREAT vegetarian option for the holidays.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2007
This was very good and not too sweet like others had mentioned. There is a nice balance between the cornbread and regular stuffing mix. Other fruit I added were cranberries and dried apricots. I cooked mine for almost an hour which made it a little dry...I won't overcook it next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 146) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Corn & Porcini Mushroom Cornbread Dressing

See the accidentally best cornbread dressing ever.

Southern Cornbread Dressing

This rich Southern dressing includes chicken and eggs.

Pecan Apricot Stuffing

See how to make this delicious all-purpose stuffing or dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States