Apple Pecan Cornbread Dressing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2007
I made this dressing for Thanksgiving and was disappointed at how dry it was. I do not feel that the apple or pecan flavors were very developed. Perhaps a smaller batch of cornbread (not the 9x9 pan) would be better. I'm not sure though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenn Jones

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2007
I made this for thanksgiving, my husband hasn't stopped raving about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2007
Made for Thanksgiving dinner. Great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Misty Atkinson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2007
great recipe--everyone loved it at my thanksgiving meal! i think i would prefer it with more pecans, but the recipe was fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2007
I have never been able to make wonderful, moist dressing until now. This was excellent. Nearly the entire dish of dressing was eaten and people kept raving about the flavor. During the mixing, before adding the eggs, I tasted to see if the apple juice made it too sweet, and ended up adding in some chicken broth, also, but other than that, the recipe was made as stated. Wonderful texture and flavor, and the smell while it was cooking (three hours in the crock pot on high) was out of this world.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sneedville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Johnson City, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2007
Really tasty...Full of flavor! I did add some sage and thyme into my cornmuffin mix. I also used walnuts instead of pecans, and toasted them for about 8 mins. I also cut down on the apple juice otherwise mine would have been soggy.I also cut down on the amount of butter, and still got a crispy top!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2007
This was the first time I have ever made stuffing and it was super easy. I added vegetable broth with the apple juice to make sure it wasn't dry and it turned out perfect. Even my meat lovers at the table had rave reviews. A GREAT vegetarian option for the holidays.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2007
This was very good and not too sweet like others had mentioned. There is a nice balance between the cornbread and regular stuffing mix. Other fruit I added were cranberries and dried apricots. I cooked mine for almost an hour which made it a little dry...I won't overcook it next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2007
This is the absolute most wonderful stuffing I have ever consumed! I stumbled upon it a few years ago when looking for a vegetarian stuffing and ever since I insist on bringing the stuffing to every Thanksgiving dinner I attend (and I can eat meat now)! People love it! Even my must-eat-meat-or-it's-no-good family! I don't even tell them it's vegetarian! Even though we all eat meat, I still make this stuffing because it is THAT good. If you are looking for vegetarian make sure you read the box on the stuffing you add to see it doesn't have dried chicken broth in it. Or substitute similar herbs or veggie bouillon (must include sage!) and stale bread cut into tiny cubes. But if you are a meat eater, trust me... this recipe is worth trying!!! You'll be convinced.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2007
Ah...Comfort food. This made my stove top hating friend's jaw hit the floor when I told her that there was stove top in there! To free up the oven while I cooked the turkey and put the stuffing in the crockpot on high a few hours ahead of time. I stirred once every hour. To offset the sweetness that previous reviewers complained of, I only added one cup of apple juice and one cup of chickeb broth which gave it a slightly sweet flavor which really complemented the apples. Did I mention that this was the first time I ever made homemade stuffing and it was REALLY easy?!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ilovemykids

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grandville, Michigan, USA
Living In: Sioux Center, Iowa, USA

Displaying results 81-90 (of 144) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pecan Apricot Stuffing

See how to make this delicious all-purpose stuffing or dressing.

Cornbread Stuffing

Learn how to make a simple baked cornbread stuffing that’s perfect with poultry.

Goat Cheese Apple Walnut Pasta

See how to make a quick and delicious pasta side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States