Apple Pecan Cornbread Dressing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2006
I made this for Christmas dinner and it was very tasty. It was a little crumbly, so I might add an egg or some apple juice. If you are serving gravy (I did not) then the consistency is fine. Also, I didn't notice much of an apple or sweet taste. It was a simple recipes to prepare. I would make this again when there are vegetarians for dinner, but I still prefer a cornbread dressing with sausage !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2006
I was not terribly inpressed with this stuffing, however, the rest of the family enjoyed it. I replaced the juice with broth as suggested by other reviewers. I thought it was too dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Willis, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2006
This was fantastic! I doubled this to take for a work function, and everyone there was begging for the recipe! I may change our traditional family stuffing and make this our new tradition!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2006
The entire table agreed this was the best dressing we'd ever had! For the first time in my life, there was no leftover dressing at the end of the day. I substituted 1 cup raisins for the celery (I had two celery haters at the table -- the raisins tasted great with the apples, I definitely recommend this even if you're using celery too) and used only 1 1/2 cups apple juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2006
the best i have ever tasted. not too sweet, just right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2006
Fabulous!! I didn't get rave reviews on this dressing as we had SO MUCH good food, but seeing as that I prepared most of it and was especially excited to try this recipe I have to say it came out perfect. I love the sweetness and the pecans give it such a nice crunch. I changed the preperation method just a bit to suit my taste: I added the apple juice and chopped apples to the pan of butter, onion, and celery after they where done cooking and I just heated through. In addition to adding the apples, I threw in 3/4 cup of dried cranberries. I couldn't find "herb seasoned dry bread stuffing mix" so I just used poultry seasoning to taste. YUM! This will be a staple in my house from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2006
I made this recipe last Thanksgiving and this year's Thanksgiving and it was a hit. Everyone loved this dish. This dressing is so flavorful and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2006
I think I will stick to making cornbread dressing the way my mom taught me. This was a nice experiment but it was just too sweet for our family's taste. We all missed our traditional family dressing. I wish I could share the recipe, but we don't actually use one. We just mix and season "to taste." I served this dressing to over 20 people (half children) and they all prefer a less sweeter dressing except for my one year old grandson. He loved it and even ate more for lunch the next day. Considering all the good reviews this recipe has received, I am just assuming that if you like sweeter dressing, this might be a hit at your home. It just wasn't at mine. So, I can't honestly give it a high rating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by grandma_beth

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2006
This recipe is wonderful. I am not a dressing fan, but I really enjoyed this dish. I baked it in a 9x13 and it came out moist but not mushy. It makes a lot so I think next time I will bake it in 2 9x9's and freeze one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbia, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2006
I made this for Thanksgiving this year and everyone loved it!!! This is going to be my stuffing for next year and I didn't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 153) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Corn & Porcini Mushroom Cornbread Dressing

See the accidentally best cornbread dressing ever.

Southern Cornbread Dressing

This rich Southern dressing includes chicken and eggs.

Pecan Apricot Stuffing

See how to make this delicious all-purpose stuffing or dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States