Apple Pecan Cornbread Dressing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2006
I think I will stick to making cornbread dressing the way my mom taught me. This was a nice experiment but it was just too sweet for our family's taste. We all missed our traditional family dressing. I wish I could share the recipe, but we don't actually use one. We just mix and season "to taste." I served this dressing to over 20 people (half children) and they all prefer a less sweeter dressing except for my one year old grandson. He loved it and even ate more for lunch the next day. Considering all the good reviews this recipe has received, I am just assuming that if you like sweeter dressing, this might be a hit at your home. It just wasn't at mine. So, I can't honestly give it a high rating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by grandma_beth

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2006
This recipe is wonderful. I am not a dressing fan, but I really enjoyed this dish. I baked it in a 9x13 and it came out moist but not mushy. It makes a lot so I think next time I will bake it in 2 9x9's and freeze one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbia, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2006
I made this for Thanksgiving this year and everyone loved it!!! This is going to be my stuffing for next year and I didn't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2006
Ok, I'm giving this a 4 because it's a little sweet for my tastes. I think I would prefer a traditional dressing with the apples added to it. I think the apple juice too sweet. I will try it again with stock instead of juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mama loves to cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Flatonia, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2006
I made this last year for Thanksgiving and will definitley be making it again this year. The only change I made was using day-old bread cubes and a little poultry seasoning instead of the packaged stuff. The flavor is just what I was looking for and I love the cohesiveness of the finished product...almost like a spoon bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dmd77

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Burlington, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2006
All I can say is YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ZOPOOH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portsmouth, Virginia, USA
Living In: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2005
I have made this recipe several years in a row now, and it is always a favorite. My husband can't eat pecans, and it is just as tasty without the nuts. Regular dressing tastes boring after eating this because it does have a sweetness to it. I use Marie Callenders corn bread mix for extra sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2005
Maybe it is just me, but StoveTop still rules -and is much easier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Mountain Home, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2005
This was an excellent recipe and I wouldn't change a thing. I also added some more bacon, apples and sweet sausage. Since my husband doesn't like nuts, instead of mixing them in, I put them on top of half the dish. Don't know why I never thought of that before!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Davie, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2005
This was awesome at Thanksgiving. I used one extra cup of Apple Juice because I cooked the cornbread a little too long. It turned out great! This will become a Thanksgiving staple for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 146) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Corn & Porcini Mushroom Cornbread Dressing

See the accidentally best cornbread dressing ever.

Southern Cornbread Dressing

This rich Southern dressing includes chicken and eggs.

Pecan Apricot Stuffing

See how to make this delicious all-purpose stuffing or dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States