Apple Pecan Cobbler Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2007
YUMMYLICIOUS! The first two times I made it, I inadvertedly used baking soda instead of baking powder. I rectified my mistake next time I baked it and used baking powder as the recipe calls for. I found that the soda works SO MUCH BETTER. I also add nutmeg, cloves, ginger and raisins. I have an apple tree that has given me abundant fruit so I have baked this cobbler MANY, MANY TIMES. I get nothing but raves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
193 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2001
A very good recipe! I doubled it and put it in a 9 x 13 pan, and baked it 10 min. longer and it turned out perfect. So easy to make and was to die for. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
168 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2006
I used half whole wheat flour, half white flour, brown sugar instead of white, and I only had skim milk. This came out great. So delicious and moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
163 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2005
Outstanding. I didn't have evaporated milk, so I substituted a can of sweetened condensed milk for the evaporated milk and 1 cup sugar. Fabulous!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
72 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Albany, New York, USA
Living In: Boulder, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2002
What a wonderful treat this was! I did find that it does have more of a cake like texture as another reviewer mentioned though. I had to omit the nuts for my daughter and I used half white sugar and half light brown sugar with a tsp of vanilla and some extra cinnamon and then did a very light drizzle of maple syrup over the apple before I added the flour mix. I think that maybe 55 minute was a bit to long for my oven. Next time i will start checking it after 45 or so. Thanks for the wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2007
this recipe is excellent. the only change we made was to add the juice of 1 lemon to the apples, it helps with the browning of the apples and tastes great. i would highly recommend this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2007
I made this yesterday, and I have to say this is the bomb-diggity! I have no changes whatsoever, except maybe enjoy with a couple bottles of wine! As my grandpappy used to say, "It's so good, it'll make yer tongue slap yer brains out!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2005
DELICIOUS! This has become my favorite cobbler recipe. Followed the directions exactly but had a little more apples than it called for so I put it all in a 9x13 pan. Family raved over it! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunFlower
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2006
I don't know whether it's a real cobbler or not but it is amazing! I reduced the sugar to 1/2 cup and doubled the quantities for the dough, as suggested by other reviewers. Too bad I didn't have enough pecans to sprinkle some on the top too...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunFlower

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Charleroi, Hainaut, Belgium
Living In: Jette, Brussels, Belgium
Reviewed: May 1, 2003
This recipe melts in your mouth. It really is to die for! Can be made without pecans if your guests do not like nuts, but the pecans really are the crowning jewel. You can feel confident making this recipe for any occasion. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 313) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mountain Apple Cobbler

A secret sweet ingredient makes this Southern classic extra-special.

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Crispiest Apple Crisp

Discover the secret ingredient that makes this the crispiest apple crisp ever!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States