Apple Peanut Butter Crisp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2011
a little dry and overly sweet. adding cream to serve with helped cut the sweet. I will say that my husband doesn't care for peanut butter, but he could not stop picking the topping and eating it. This was good for a quick warm dessert with few ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Loveland, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2010
A very tasty apple crisp recipe. I modified it slightly increasing the peanut butter to 3 tablespoons and the brown sugar to 1 cup. Delicious with either ice cream or whipped cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2011
very simple, but very good recipe. to make it diabetic friendly, i used splenda brown sugar. great compliments at the work thanksgiving party!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Social Circle, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2010
This was VERY quick and easy. My butter was straight out of the fridge so I stuck it in a coffee cup and nuked for 30 secs before adding it to the topping. My only issue is it is way too sweet. If I try this again I think I will at least halve the brown sugar. Seems like an easy dessert for kids to make
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MI$$DREA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2010
Great! and easy. Love love love this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2012
I made this for Mother's Day today, with a few tweaks. Into the crumble topping I added in an egg and added a full tablespoon of butter and peanutbutter, as I was afraid it was going to be a little too dry. I also find that mixing it with the apples isn't a bad idea. Don't make it into a crust! It's absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2012
hmmm...this recipe confuses me. i chose it because my oven was full of a roast, but i wanted something for dessert, so the microwave prep, although curious, was enticing. so i went for because in my house, we love apples, and we love peanut butter...and love dipping apples in peanut butter, so it should be a match made in heaven, right? not so much. the peanut butter flavor is VERY mild, and needs to be increased significantly. the prep in the microwave also doesn't do good things to the "crisp" topping, which after being nuked for 16 minutes, was nothing close to crispy, but more like serious mush. so all in all it wasn't terrible, but not something i'd make again. the leftovers sat in the fridge for a week, and then got tossed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BECCAP

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Warminster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Pipersville, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by Sanne
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2011
Needed a quick dessert. Hubby and cousin LOVED the peanut butter in the crisp! I did do as another suggested and did add three heaping TBS of peanut butter instead of two (hubby really likes peanut butter). And a side note - I had canned apples - so I used those - turned out delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2010
great and easy recipe. Due to peanut allergies in my family, I used peabutter. It was still beyond delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2012
I found this to be rather bland compared to my usual apple crisp. Also, I didn't like the texture with it being cooked in the microwave. I think if I were to make this again (and not sure I'd bother), I'd cook it in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Strawberry Angel Cookies

See how to make moist, fruity strawberry cookies.

Slow Cooker Apple Crisp

Apples slowly cook with a cinnamony sweet mixture topped with walnut crumble.

Apple Berry Crisp

Follow these simple steps to make a classic, all-American dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States