Apple Pan Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Lillian
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2008
This was very good. I made it as written except I omitted the thyme and I subbed walnuts and cranraisins for the pine nuts and currants. I think the pine nuts would of been better especially if they were toasted and chopped. I also chopped the cranraisins. I seasoned the chicken with salt and pepper before sauteing. I thickened the pan juices with a little water and cornstarch. My apples of choice were 2 golden delicious and 1 red delicious. I served this over white rice. Keep the salt shaker handy. I had to salt it while eating. This recipe is a nice combo of sweet and spicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Whitestone, New York, USA
Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2004
I served this for guests and it was a hit. I used raisins instead of currants and walnuts instead of pine nuts. Next time I would chop the nuts!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2004
My boyfriend and I loved this. I left out the currants because I didn't have any, and I used boneless, skinless turkey breast instead of chicken. I thought the jalapeno peppers were a nice touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2004
This was so good! I loved the thyme with it, really gave it something special. I doubled the amount of apple juice, reserving some and adding a bit of cornstarch to it, to thicken the sauce. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Savannah, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2005
I was surprised at well my family liked this dish. I used dried cherries instead of currants and the taste was fabulous. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2006
Was an easy and delicious receipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
I didn't use any pine nuts or jalapenos for different people's tastes/allergies and, since i didn't have any apple juice on hand, I used a hard apple cider. Everything else was exactly as the recipe said and I thought it turned out wonderfully. It was warm and unique and gave a nice fruity spice to chicken. I would definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2008
My 21 month old LOVED this dish (as did my husband and I). I have prepared similar dishes from this site - chicken with peaches, chicken with apricots, and they both went over well, so I thought I'd give this a try. Very easy to put together - and I think we'll be making it a LOT this fall when our apples are ready for picking. I would recommend seasoning the chicken with salt and pepper before cooking it - I have found that helps a lot of recipes (I think some writers think seasoning the meat is just a given and don't include it as a step, but as a novice cook - I can tell you it wasn't something I had ever thought of doing w/o instruction until I met my husband who always does it at the start of a recipe) Great dish for fall - although just as tasty served with sweet peas and mashed potatoes in the spring too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Englewood, Colorado, USA
Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2009
I had a bag of apples in the fridge I was trying to use and found this recipe. As I had all the ingredients, I thought I'd give it a try. The flavors went together well. The thyme especially gave the dish a great flavor. The next time I think I will add a little chicken stock/broth to give a more saucy consistancy to spoon over some rice. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ISHKABIBIL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rome, Georgia, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2011
I prepared this as directed but after cooking the recommended time in a covered skillet it was still so soupy. So I kept the lid off, turned up the heat a bit to brown the chicken and let the juices reduce... Then it was really yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Braised Chicken Apple Sausages and Cabbage

See how to make a simple and comforting one-pot meal.

Braised Chicken and Artichokes

See how to make an easy and flavorful braised chicken dish.

Asian Orange Chicken

Watch how to make simple, takeout-style crispy orange chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States