Apple Pan Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 10, 2002
Very interesting and unusual flavor, however I added 1/4 cup sugar to sweeten it a bit, as it seemed a bit in limbo between a sweet dish and non-sweet dish. Do NOT overdo the thyme as I did. It gives the dish the signature flavor, but overdone, it will overpower. The prep time seemed to take a bit longer than 10 minutes, but I have little experience paring apples and that took more time, and I chose to cut the chicken breasts into bite-size chunks rather than use the whole breasts. The overall flavor is not spectacular, but it is nice over rice and very different. Definitely worth a shake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2003
We enjoy all the ingredients in this dish, so I thought we might like it. Unfortunately it wasn't well received at the table. Not wanting to waste the chicken breasts, I coated them with a thin marinade of dijon and a touch of garlic flavored olive oil then cut them in strips over a big leafy romaine and spinach salad. I suppose the fact that they had chilled and combined nicely with the greens made this a better luncheon salad than it did a dinner. Thanks Isadore.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2003
I used only 1/2 jalapeno, concerned it might be too spicy for my mother in law, and she loved it, as did my husband and guests. Clean, warm taste, not "hot". Next time, I will add an additional clove garlic, as we like garlic, in this household.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Carrot River, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2004
I served this for guests and it was a hit. I used raisins instead of currants and walnuts instead of pine nuts. Next time I would chop the nuts!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2004
My boyfriend and I loved this. I left out the currants because I didn't have any, and I used boneless, skinless turkey breast instead of chicken. I thought the jalapeno peppers were a nice touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2004
Very nice. I used rasins rather than currents since that is what i had. I would also recommened toasting the pine nuts, it brings out their taste and gives a nice crunch. I also added 1/2 t of allspice which gives a nice wintery flavor. I will certainly make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2004
This was so good! I loved the thyme with it, really gave it something special. I doubled the amount of apple juice, reserving some and adding a bit of cornstarch to it, to thicken the sauce. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Savannah, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2005
Very nice dish. I found I needed more oil (about 3T) and in the future I would reduce the thyme to 1t - that flavor was too strong for me. The pine nut & jalapeno were a very nice touch. I will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan Stone

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cranford, New Jersey, USA
Living In: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2005
The ingredients looked delicious, but the dish ended up being a bit bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2005
Juat a bit too different, although my kids did ask for doubles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Jerusalem, Mehoz Yerushalayim, Israel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Braised Chicken Apple Sausages and Cabbage

See how to make a simple and comforting one-pot meal.

Braised Chicken and Artichokes

See how to make an easy and flavorful braised chicken dish.

Asian Orange Chicken

Watch how to make simple, takeout-style crispy orange chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States