Apple Pan Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2008
My 21 month old LOVED this dish (as did my husband and I). I have prepared similar dishes from this site - chicken with peaches, chicken with apricots, and they both went over well, so I thought I'd give this a try. Very easy to put together - and I think we'll be making it a LOT this fall when our apples are ready for picking. I would recommend seasoning the chicken with salt and pepper before cooking it - I have found that helps a lot of recipes (I think some writers think seasoning the meat is just a given and don't include it as a step, but as a novice cook - I can tell you it wasn't something I had ever thought of doing w/o instruction until I met my husband who always does it at the start of a recipe) Great dish for fall - although just as tasty served with sweet peas and mashed potatoes in the spring too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Englewood, Colorado, USA
Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2007
I'd never had an apple/chicken combination before so without having anything to compare it to this wasn't bad. I used 4 chicken breasts and 2 apples. The apples ended up turning to mush, will using baking apples next time. Also cut way down on the garlic salt as suggested. I added about 1 1/2 cups of apple juice to keep it from drying out. Not bad at all, will try again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2007
Specify type of apple...used non-cooking apples and was a little soft. Will tweek some other aspects next time. Ok for my first attempt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by melpy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elkridge, Maryland, USA
Living In: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2006
Was an easy and delicious receipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2006
Very good eve without jalapenos
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2005
Delicious, easy, and a big hit with my dinner party guests! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2005
the chicken was really very moist and tasty. However, the apples, currants (I used craisins) and jalepeno (again, substitute green chilis) mixture was horrible. I ended up cutting the chicken and adding it to sald. I won't make this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Hagerstown, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2005
I was surprised at well my family liked this dish. I used dried cherries instead of currants and the taste was fabulous. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2005
My husband and I both thought this chicken was a little bland and needed a little spicing up. It was healthy, but pretty much tasteless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2005
This recipe did not turn out well. The flavor is bland with a hint of odd. I left out the currants since I didn't have any. Not sure that would have made a differece, I doubt it. I will not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Braised Chicken Apple Sausages and Cabbage

See how to make a simple and comforting one-pot meal.

Braised Chicken and Artichokes

See how to make an easy and flavorful braised chicken dish.

Coconut Chicken Curry

What's cooking in Pearland, Texas? A sweet-and-savory fusion dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States