Apple Pan Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2013
It wasn't inedible but it was bland for me. It has a very unique flavor but there was just something missing for me. I probably won't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2011
I thought it would be more flavorful with all the seasoning that went into it , but it was just bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2011
I prepared this as directed but after cooking the recommended time in a covered skillet it was still so soupy. So I kept the lid off, turned up the heat a bit to brown the chicken and let the juices reduce... Then it was really yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
I didn't use any pine nuts or jalapenos for different people's tastes/allergies and, since i didn't have any apple juice on hand, I used a hard apple cider. Everything else was exactly as the recipe said and I thought it turned out wonderfully. It was warm and unique and gave a nice fruity spice to chicken. I would definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2010
It's actually more like 3.5 stars...but since that wasn't an option...3 it is. Not a bad summer dish- refreshing and light-just not amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Warren, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2010
This sounded good but in my opinion the finished product was not worth all of the work. It was a little bland. The jalepenos definitely helped, but it was not up to my expectations. The apples blended in a bit and it was difficult to taste them. It was not bad but just not flavorful enough. I agree that it might be better cold and in a salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chuleta
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2009
I did not add currents or pine nuts as I did not have any! But I am eager to try it again with them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2009
I think we would have liked this recipe better without jalapeno (which completely overpowered all of the other flavors) and less thyme. I only tasted those two flavors. I doubt I'll try it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa V.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2009
I had a bag of apples in the fridge I was trying to use and found this recipe. As I had all the ingredients, I thought I'd give it a try. The flavors went together well. The thyme especially gave the dish a great flavor. The next time I think I will add a little chicken stock/broth to give a more saucy consistancy to spoon over some rice. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ISHKABIBIL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rome, Georgia, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lillian
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2008
This was very good. I made it as written except I omitted the thyme and I subbed walnuts and cranraisins for the pine nuts and currants. I think the pine nuts would of been better especially if they were toasted and chopped. I also chopped the cranraisins. I seasoned the chicken with salt and pepper before sauteing. I thickened the pan juices with a little water and cornstarch. My apples of choice were 2 golden delicious and 1 red delicious. I served this over white rice. Keep the salt shaker handy. I had to salt it while eating. This recipe is a nice combo of sweet and spicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Whitestone, New York, USA
Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Braised Chicken Apple Sausages and Cabbage

See how to make a simple and comforting one-pot meal.

Braised Chicken and Artichokes

See how to make an easy and flavorful braised chicken dish.

Spicy Avocado Chicken

Pan-fried chicken topped with a fresh avocado and red onion salsa.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States