Apple Oatmeal Cookies II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2014
These cookies were quite good and my family ate them up pretty quick! Loved the honey instead of sugar. Although next time I would add pumpkin spice for just a bit more of a fall taste and perhaps add some raisins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Waskiewich
Home Town: Bonnyville, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2014
I loved this recipe, although I did change it a little to fit my tastes. I replaced the margarine with unsweetened applesauce like my fellow reviewer had done. The dough seemed really wet, so I did throw in some more oats (about 2 cups instead of 1 1/2 cups). Also, I'm not a fan of chopped apples so I mixed in 1/2 cup of dried cranberries. It came out just the way I wanted it to!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kai

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2014
As some previous reviewers mentioned, these really are more like muffin tops than cookies. However, they're fabulous! My husband gobbled them right up. I did add 1/4 cup of brown sugar and almost doubled the cinnamon... however, that's a personal preference. Either way, they're delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2013
I'm sorry, but these were terrible. I followed other people's suggestions and substituted the applesauce for the margarine, plus added raisins and brown sugar. They didn't ever leave the "ball" shape and tasted terrible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2013
OK I take some of the blame that is why there are 2 stars for the good idea...I used raspberry flavored applesauce thinking that might help with the blandness and put a heaping teaspoon of cinnamon(its good for no need to skimp)still so very bland. They were so dry they got stuck on the way down! This maybe from skipping the butter...but they didn't' even flatten out at all they stayed the shape I put them in the oven?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2013
I added baked/cinnamon apples first and added peanut butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by edilbim

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2013
Was a little disappointed they didn't come out more like traditionally oatmeal cookies but they were still tasty. After the first dozen I switched to making them muffins instead of cookies and they make great muffins! The only thing I changed was using unsalted butter instead of margarine. If you like them a little sweeter you can put a small amount of sugar in them in addition to the honey. I made the second batch with about an eighth of a cup of white sugar in addition to the honey and they were noticeably sweeter without busting the belt line. I will not make them as cookies again but will definitely make them as muffins again as snacks or breakfast muffins. Very hearty and tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2013
Can't get them through the oven quick enough! My 3 kids (8 yr, 5 yr, 2 yr) are eating all the cookies from one tray before the next one is out of the oven! Definite hit! After reading the other reviews, I was tempted to add brown sugar but I am glad I didn't. I don't think they NEED it. Brown sugar may make them slightly better but my kids gobbled them up without so why add it if not completely necessary!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2013
These are fabulous! The only thing I did different was to increase the cinnamon from 3/4 t to 1 full teaspoon and added a dash of nutmug. My entire family (including the picky kids loved them)! I used a Fuji Apple diced fairly small. It is cake like, but that's one of things I love about them! A wonderful healthy snack without all the refined sugars! I will be making this regularly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2012
very good! I adjusted a few things as in other reviewer's suggested like I used butter, grated the apples and used 1/2 c. brown sugar instead of honey. I also used 3/4 oatmeal and 3/4 crushed cornflakes. Also, a dash of nutmeg. Turned out yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by grace

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 142) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chocolate Cranberry Oatmeal Cookies

Bake delicious oatmeal cookies with white chocolate chips and cranberries.

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States