Apple Oatmeal Cookies II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2007
I am trying to lay off the sweets, but wanted to make a snack for bible study that I could eat. This recipe was a great find. Very yummy...I especially like the taste of honey in it. My only complaint is that they are too delicate, which might be partly my own fault for chopping the apple too big.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AMBERKRYNOCK

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hamilton, Michigan, USA
Living In: Welch, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2007
This is a good recipe, but not a sweet tooth's favorite. I took previous reviewers' advice and added some brown sugar, some raisins, a bit extra cinnamon, a dash of nutmeg, and another quarter cup of oats. Then for lack of time, I baked them in a 9x13 pan as bars. They were definitely tasty, and were perfect for my situation because they were so quick and easy to make, with simple ingredients I had on hand. But this goes in the "in a pinch" category, not in the "all-time favorites, everyone-asks-for-the-recipe" category.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CBARBUSCA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bradenton, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2007
very quick to put together
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA
Living In: Vratsa, Vratsa, Bulgaria
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2007
I made the recipe as written, only substituting butter for margerine. They came out very moist and not too sweet which I like a lot. I'll make them again using applesauce instead of butter and maybe adding some raisins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2007
Unimpressive, although that could have been my fault for replacing all of the fat with applesauce. I added some wheat germ and a ton of spices because they were kind weak on flavor, but I think with the addition of some milk they might have made decent mini muffins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FRAMBUESA

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2007
Took other reviewers' advice and added ginger, nutmeg, and extra cinnamon. Used white flour (it's all I had) and cookies came out soft and cakey. Unexpected, but everyone enjoyed them as cake cookies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2007
The second time I made this, I made it exactly per recipe (except for using butter instead of margarine) and they came out perfect. Delicately sweet, appley, good to adults and my preschoolers. The first time I made it, I subbed half-brown sugar with half-honey because I was short on the honey. Texture was fine, but I experimented with the second half of the dough to see if I'd like it sweeter - added a little extra brown sugar - and then they didn't hold together well. Will stick to the recipe from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYNN ANNE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2007
Great cookie! I have a sweet tooth so I took the suggestions and added brown sugar (about a 1/2 cup). Also added a little more oatmeal (about 1/4-1/2 cup), and added extra apple. My husband was looking for something semi-healthy to snack on during work, and I think this hit the spot! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROSYGRL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2007
Thank you for this recipe! I prefer to only use natural sugar and whole wheat flour, so I was excited to try these cookies. I don't use margarine (I'd recommend using butter instead as there is nothing natural about margarine) and we have dairy and egg allergies in the family, so I replaced the margarine with the same amount of unsweetened applesauce and used 1/2 a mashed banana for the egg. I also didn't feel like cutting up an apple, so I used 1/2 cup raisins. I love the way they came out: moist, chewy, just the right of sweetness, and all wholesome ingredients! My two year old and I gobbled them up! In fact, my biggest problem was not eating all the cookies in one sitting. They're so small; it's easy to have just one more! I'm looking forward to experimenting with this recipe and will definitely try with the apples. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2007
A great cookie to make with apples. I found the cookies not very sweet though. I added a tablespoon of brown sugar to the batter and then, once the cookie have cooled - a sprinkle of cinnamon sugar or icing sugar (or both).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lublin, Lublin, Poland
Living In: Delta, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 143) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chocolate Cranberry Oatmeal Cookies

Bake delicious oatmeal cookies with white chocolate chips and cranberries.

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States